We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay (with a Few Issues)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Okay (with a Few Issues)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The room had undergone the recent update/renovation that the chain is undertaking so it was a decent enough looking room with firm beds, good pillows, and comfortable furnishings. Also, the room was very quiet, and we heard almost no noise from other rooms or even from nearby I-75. The location is very convenient with nearby shopping, restaurants, and other amenities. It's also just a few miles from the UF campus. They have a nice size swimming pool, too.

The issues we found were that the A/C unit did not seem capable of removing the humidity from the air. The first room we were given had a noticeable odor when we entered, and we found the the vent of the A/C to be covered with black mold--very toxic stuff. Of course, they immediately gave us a different room, which was much better. However, in the new room one of the bedspreads was totally wrinkled and unsightly, but we decided we could live with it since it didn't jeopardize our health. The bath soap they provide leaves you feeling slimy, and the complimentary coffee in the lobby is undrinkable.

We received the Florida resident rate, which was a good deal, and we chose Red Roof Inn because we were originally going to bring our dog and Red Roof Inn has a Pets-Stay-Free policy. Who else offers that?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear CA-FL-TX-FL,

Thank you so much for staying with us and truly appreciate for sharing the experience. We have followed up on your suggestions. We will continuously work harder to improve our facility. We hope to have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    69
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
93
55
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipley, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Check in was fast, the reservation was ready and accurate. We noticed the Tripadvisor scores prominently posted near the desk. The desk clerk was a friendly young lady, with a conversational approach which made us feel welcome. A few minutes after we entered our room, the desk clerk called to check to make sure everything was satisfactory. It was. Room had been totally refurbished, new hardwood floors, new paint, reworked bathroom. The room was airy and inviting. No room odor.The floors were clean, so much that bare feet could not feel any grit. The bathroom was clean, and well stocked. Beds were made, with clean linens. Overall cleanliness of the room was remarkable. Beds were comfortable. This hotel does not offer in-room coffee or complimentary breakfast, but it does have hot coffee in the lobby all day and all night. We liked that because we didn’t have to make coffee ourselves. One evening we went to the lobby, sat and drank coffee and talked for about an hour. The night desk clerk, a young man, was very attentive. We asked for and extra blanket, and he brought it immediately. We reported a broken hair dryer. The tripped breaker was reset the very next morning. The outside of the hotel was clean, with attractive landscaping. It is near several restaurants and fast food establishments that are easily walkable. Also right across the street, for an easy walk, is a Target and a Publix stores for any personal or food items one might want. Checkout was fast and accurate. A different young lady checked us out. She was just as friendly and helpful as the others. We thoroughly enjoyed this four day stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Lunchdate818,

We are so happy to hear that we made you feel so welcome! We truly appreciate your review. Thanks for recognizing friendly front staff and clean rooms. I will make sure share your review with the rest of the team. We are so energized to work harder. Hope to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Euihee Prekler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just made our 2nd visit in 15 months to this property. The new wood floor in a pet-friendly room seems like a great idea. Many motel reviews seem to start with room odor, and this room had absolutely none. We had a nice room, not fancy but good value, and everything as promised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear LaurieMiami,

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your thoughts on our floors. We are so happy to hear your satisfied experience. I will make sure share your kind words with the rest of my staff and will continuously work harder to provide excellent value.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Having just come from Disney, We were looking for a low cost overnight stop near the University of Florida. The "new rooms" feature and $52 price helped us select this. True to its claim, the hotel had great new rooms, clean, and spacious enough for 4. It is located across the street from a Target and near many restaurant options. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a very clean, well kept property, at a great price point. No, it is not a luxury resort, and is a bit light on amenities, but if you want a good rate at place that is not scary, look no farther, and check in at this Red Roof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly. The check in time for our room was 5 minutes. The rooms are stated to be brand new, which yes they are and very nice actually. The wood floors really make the room stand out. Everything in room was clean and smelt fine, IN THE ROOM...BUT this is an animal friendly hotel. I guess I didn't catch that when booking. When walking into the hotel I was immediately hit with the wet dog smell. It was thick and muggy smelling. Then walking down the hallway toward the elevator to get to my room, there was a potent cat urine smell. Which really throws you off. I was there for two days an the hotel had this smell the whole time. There were dogs everywhere. Yes I have dogs myself but I just don't see the point of allowing so many, every kind of breed and even cats into the hotel. I booked this hotel for family and they weren't very pleased overall. From all the great reviews I was exepecting more. Yes the rooms are nice but this is an average hotel. Just average. Location is walking distance from publix and restaurants but I didn't feel comfortable at night doing so. I think I would pay the little extra to stay at another hotel down the street. There is no continental breakfast, and the class of people staying at the hotel seemed a little shady to me...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here more nights than at home recently. Great hospital rate. Alexis at front desk always very helpful... She is a great plus to this hotel. Clean, nice rooms, great if you have dogs.... Very happy with this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.