We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 "Cs": Clean, Cheap, & Close!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“3 "Cs": Clean, Cheap, & Close!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a very clean, well kept property, at a great price point. No, it is not a luxury resort, and is a bit light on amenities, but if you want a good rate at place that is not scary, look no farther, and check in at this Red Roof.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    78
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
104
59
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly. The check in time for our room was 5 minutes. The rooms are stated to be brand new, which yes they are and very nice actually. The wood floors really make the room stand out. Everything in room was clean and smelt fine, IN THE ROOM...BUT this is an animal friendly hotel. I guess I didn't catch that when booking. When walking into the hotel I was immediately hit with the wet dog smell. It was thick and muggy smelling. Then walking down the hallway toward the elevator to get to my room, there was a potent cat urine smell. Which really throws you off. I was there for two days an the hotel had this smell the whole time. There were dogs everywhere. Yes I have dogs myself but I just don't see the point of allowing so many, every kind of breed and even cats into the hotel. I booked this hotel for family and they weren't very pleased overall. From all the great reviews I was exepecting more. Yes the rooms are nice but this is an average hotel. Just average. Location is walking distance from publix and restaurants but I didn't feel comfortable at night doing so. I think I would pay the little extra to stay at another hotel down the street. There is no continental breakfast, and the class of people staying at the hotel seemed a little shady to me...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here more nights than at home recently. Great hospital rate. Alexis at front desk always very helpful... She is a great plus to this hotel. Clean, nice rooms, great if you have dogs.... Very happy with this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I will honestly say that I'm very specific about the house I stay at. given the amount of money that had to be spent to bring my son down for bootcamp, this is establishment by far was excellent. I was really worried about the sleeping arrangements and convenience of additional restaurants in the area . the staff was very helpful and that was most appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great price, clean, very nice rooms, environment perfect for a family and very safe. Everything is around this hotel.. target, chick fil a, wendys, burger king, chipotle, wal mart, rite aid, etc. I have and will continue to recommend this hotel to anyone coming to gainesville.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlamonte springs fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My son is a student at UF. We have stayed at this hotel a few times to help in move in and move out . The hotel is clean and convenient , The front desk is always friendly and helpful.
Great value for the price !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This Red Roof Inn was such a great value! The rooms were spotless and updated. The beds were comfortable and the staff were professional and friendly. We felt safe and well taken care of. We would have loved to use the pool, but there was a few younger party people drinking beer & carrying on, so we passed on that. Lots of parking available and the hotel was in a clean, nice looking area with several hotel chains. A GREAT value for what we spent for the room. Will definitely stay here again on our way thru Florida.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.