We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way across Florida. Just looking for a place to crash for a night with our cat. The rooms were great, new and updated, clean, and quiet. We would stay again if passing through town. Parking was ample great location off highway.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear TheHall,

We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and recognizing our efforts on our new rooms. It is always wonderful to receive positive comments. We hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    75
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
103
57
36
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was pleased with how the rooms had been updated and renovated. The room was clean, smelled fine, and was comfortable. We experienced no problems. It is a good choice for a "no frills" hotel. The location is in a safe area close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear meemo53,

Thank you so much for taking time and writing a review regarding your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that your room was clean, smelled fine, and was comfortable. Reviews like yours always give us extra motivation to serve our guests better. We hope to see you again on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Red Roof has done a nice job in the construction of this new motel. It was quiet, nice shower, good bed, and clean. Yes, it is a 'plain jane' with no extras and no frills but a very decent place to stay in a nice surrounding. The problem is the place is not being well maintained. I walked into my room and it just reeked of some sort of cheap disinfectant. No quality motel would ever do that. The bedspreads were wrinkled--either cheap or not laundered well. And in this new motel--the bedspreads were already either stained or soil. It is like no one has taught Red Roof how to maintain a motel so it feels--& is-- a quality motel. My stay was fine. My bet is is within six months the property will look as shoddy as most other Red Roofs

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear adamsparks,

Thanks for writing a review regarding your stay. I am happy to hear that you found out hotel to be quiet, nice shower, good bed, and clean. It is our great regret that we did not meet your expectation. We will work harder to do a better job. Hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Euihee Prekler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This property is as close to perfect as any I've ever experienced, and I use this property as a model to judge all others by. I have been staying at this property several times each year since about 2006 and I actually can't wait to get there and check-in no matter where I've stayed along the way in getting there. Check-in staff are always on-the-ball, courteous, intelligent, friendly, attentive, and everything else a traveler needs them to be at this stage of a trip. My stay here, and it's usually for a week to 10 days with each visit, has always been completely pleasant since all areas of the hotel are appropriately attended to and managed. Staff are easily accessible, from front desk to maintenance to housekeeping, and I'm always sad when I have to check-out and leave and drive on to my next destination, because I know that the next place will not be quite as good as Gainesville, Florida Red Roof Inn. Obviously the property manager deserves plenty of credit. She is most certainly an asset to Red Roof Inn.

We need handicap access and thus have had the pleasure to stay in room #117 with every visit. Apparently all rooms were renovated around September 2012, and this particular room is a two bed with roll-in shower that has a firm pull-down wall-mounted bench to sit on and a good quality hand-held shower head. Also a micro/fridge, large wall-mounted Panasonic flat-screen TV, combination hardwood floor and carpet, with the carpet being under, beside, and between the beds. It's always clean and everything has always been well maintained in the room.

This is a great hotel property with great staff. A perfect quiet stay is what you'll get here. Perfect in every way for me. WOOHOO!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Goldleafer,

WOW!!!! What a fantastic review! We are so thrilled to read your feedback. Reviews like yours always put smiles on our faces and motivate us to do a better job. We cannot wait to have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Euihee Prekler
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

1. Yes, its clean and staff are nice.
2. Location is weird, you can't see it from the Main row, prefer to stay in the next exit north, more action there.
3. No breakfast, no coffee in room.
4. Ask if you get a fridge or microwave in your low price, did not know it was an $10 upgrade.
5. Go online to get the cheaper price on their web site. We literally did it in the lobby. (free wifi)
6. Had fat, strange electronic keys, bulky. They said they would replace them to cards soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear mozartmama,

Thank you so much for writing a candid review regarding your stay. As a leader of economy hotel chain, it is our daily mission to provide nice and clean rooms with the best value in our market. We regret to hear that we did not exceed your expectation. We will work harder and hope to have another chance to serve you on your next trip.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I recently stayed here, I don't know what Diane B is talking about, every time that I have stayed at Red Roof, all the employees have been nothing but helpful. I needed something printed for me once and the lady at the front desk was kind enough to help me. Don't go off the bad reviews, this is a nice hotel with nice employees.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear AnitaJ975,

WOW, thank you SO much for sharing your experience with others. It means so much to us. I have shared your review with my entire staff to cheer them up. We are so thankful and will work harder to exceed your expectation. Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Here is what you get: a brand new room. Ample space, perfectly clean and very friendly staff. Just off Archer Road about 7 minutes from UF. Excellent value. Don't expect luxury or many toiletries, bring your own. No fluff just great basic room for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear mdray,

Thank you so much for your truthful feedback. A review like yours always gives us extra motivation to do a better job. We offer excellent value, perfectly clean rooms and very friendly staff. We hope to serve you again in near future.

Sincerely

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.