We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Miami
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Awesome hotel for the price.
Stayed with our new
sphinx cat and he loved it too!

Clean, remodeled, and spacious. Wood floors, marble tops, comfy bed and right next to the 75>
Fridge, microwave, coffee machine in the room.

Will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear missmedley,

It is so wonderful to hear that you and your new sphinx cat have enjoyed our Superior King Room. Reviews like yours always motivate us to do a better job. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience and I will make sure share your kind words with my staff. We hope to welcome back you and Sphinx in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    63
    37
    10
    9
See reviews for
84
52
33
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the night before Christmass Eve on our last rest stop on a quick trip from Ct to Fl. Very nice, clean and quite room. Nice hard surface floor great change to the carpet in the room. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Good price and comfy bed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SharingExperiences63,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with others! We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed our nice hard surface floor and comfy bed. Providing value to our guests is our daily mission. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been refurbished to a standard higher than its star status suggests with flair and style. It is an exceptionally clean and efficiently run business and I would recommend it to anyone. Could not believe someone was finally smart enough to see that awful cheap carpet and heavy and multicolored bedding is the only answer. Crisp clean wooden effect flooring and mostly blindingly white bedding gave it an air of freshness I have never found in many hotel stays. These people deserve to do well

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Finonaderby,

Thank you so very much for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you have loved our new floor and bedding. Providing an exceptional guest experience is always our goal. Again, thank you so much for sharing and we hope to have another chance to serve you in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Recently stayed here five nights. Rooms are very nice for price and very clean. Also it is quiet if you don't mind the air conditioner/heater blower being on. I liked that because it erased road noise. The fake wood floors are nice and the rooms are very modern after the remodeling and much nicer than a typical Red Roof Inn. The beds are very comfortable. I would have given this five stars if the check in clerk was more friendly. While she was efficient she didn't greet you or act very friendly. The morning clerk was very friendly. This hotel is recommended for a stay in Gainesville if you are on a budget. Breakfast is not provided but they do have a coffee bar. For quieter rooms ask for a room away from the Interstate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Don N,
Thank you for your wonderful commments regarding our newly renovated property. I'm sorry that we were not able to receive your fifth star, but we will continue to strive to receive it in the future. i would also like to thank you for reccomending our property to others who chose a stay in Gainesville Fl. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future,

Sincerely,
Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed at this Red Roof Inn for several years and have always traveled with our Yorkie and Welsh Corgie. We stay at this property and the one at Locust Grove, Ga. Several times per year on business. This time we made reservations in advance with your front desk and was not told your policies on pets had changed . When we arrived at 10:30 P.M. We were told we couldn't stay with the two dogs. The people who were checking in prior to us was also told the same thing.
We checked all other motels in area and by this time were full. So we drove on to Belview, fl. Where we were welcome at a new Hampton Inn. This will be our stop in the future. This was on Dec.21,2012.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Danny O,

Thank you for sharing your experience. One well-behaved pet has been always our pet policy. I am so sorry that we could not accommodate you and your pets. It is our continuous efforts to provide pet friendly environment and a pet stays free with guests. We hope to have a chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wish more hotels would remodel this often, because the rooms look great. Came back for the daughter's graduation from UF. Stayed in room 202, single king bed, great location, easy access from the stairs leading to the parking lot. The room has a wooden floor, except for a couple carpet patches near the night stand of the bed. Everything was clean, no hotel smell. Flat screen TV on the wall, table to work at. Plenty of plugs for phones. In room fridge. Everything just works here. No, they don't have free breakfast, only coffee downstairs. But there's plenty of places nearby, including Publix down the street. The wife slept in until 9am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Robvia,
I would like to thank you for your excellent review of our hotel. It is always our goal to provide all guests with an outstanding experience. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYETTEVILLE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Red Roof website indicates a "best available" price point of 77.00 for an Exec. King room at this location. When we arrived Saturday, 12-15-12, a college graduation was occurring in town. The desk clerk summarily declared that the computer was not offering any discounts. Although the room was clean and well-appointed, when visiting any motel owned by any chain, we have been able to negotiate some sort of discount, albeit minor. Because the facility was almost filled to capacity, the desk clerk had a "take it or leave it" attitude that we did not appreciate. Because we were tired after driving over 12 hours, we were not about to make an issue over this. Once you get into a $100 per night price point, we would have gone to Holiday Inn Express or other hotels, where we would at least get a free breakfast.

Room Tip: If possible when traveling, get a reservation online before you arrive. Otherwise, you are at the me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear dmeische,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience. I am so glad to know that you have found our newly renovated rooms are nice and clean. I understand your disappointment regarding our best available daily rate. It was higher than you have expected due to UF graduation in town. It surely increased capacity and higher rate in town. However, we still offered the best value. Offering the best value and clean rooms are our ongoing efforts. I hope we have another chance to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel
Red Roof Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn
Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.