We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Lamar, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is easy to get to and a good location if you're wanting to visit the University. Very clean, beds felt great, very very small bathroom, no carpet in the rooms. I wouldn't stay if I had to stay several days but for an overnight rest it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear MaryAnn_McC,

We are so glad that you have enjoyed our brand new beds. Thanks for sharing your experience with other travelers. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Gainesville.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Euihee Prekler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    69
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
95
55
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Recently stayed at a Hilton, and this place was cleaner! Nice new rooms. Comfy bed and smelled good too! I would recommend. Had a AAA discount too! This will be my hotel when I come to Gainesville! No carpet so no dust!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear oneflmanatee1,

Thank you for writing a reveiw regarding your recent stay at Red Roof Inn, Gainesville. We are so glad to hear that you loved our newly renovated room. Providing a clean and comfortable room is our on-going efforts. Again, thank you for sharing and hope to see you soon in near future!

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I paid $62 (+ tax) for a king room on a Wednesday night in October 2012. This is an excellent value.
Pros:
-Clean throughout. Newly renovated rooms are nice. The pics on their website are accurate.
-Good location, across from Target and Publix.
Cons:
-No breakfast.
-Internet Connections is slower than I would like. < 1 Mb/s. Good enough for checking email, reading the news, etc. But don't expect to stream a movie.
-No gym.

Summary: If you're looking simple, clean, affordable hotel, this is a very good option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear James T,

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so glad to hear that you found an excellent value in our Superior king room. We continuously strive to offer clean rooms and excellent value in this market. We hope to have another chance to welcome you back in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

It's common for us to grab a last minute room while we're on the road and I have found that I can trust the Red Roof brand to be inexpensive and clean. I'm not crazy about pets being allowed but in this case they were segregated from the rooms without pets. I agree with a previous review, the new faux wood floors are much nicer than carpet that is hiding things you can't see. It was recently remodeled and was just what we needed for a lay over on our way to Disney World.

Room Tip: We were on the end away from the highway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Pam S,

Thank you for your recent review and your confidence in Red Roof Inn, Gainesville. We are so glad to hear that you loved our faux wood floor. Hope to have another chance to serve you and your family in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed with our dog in a newly renovated first-floor room. The bathroom fixtures were new, the floor had been redone in a light pseudo-wood finish, which looked clean and fresh and made finding any dropped items very easy--a marvelous improvement over the grubby carpet you find in so many motels.

Since we'd picked up a discount book at the Florida border, we stayed for $55, including taxes and pet! I would have happily paid more for such a quiet, newly remodeled room.

No breakfast was offered, which was just fine with us. Next door is a steak and shake, which provides a great breakfast including eggs for $3.99.

Service was friendly and helpful at both the red roof and the steak and shake. All in all, a very pleasant experience which I'd happily do again.

Room Tip: We were in 107, close to the back door, away from the highway, quiet. If you want a refrigerator, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Chesterlady,

Yes, we are pet friendly and they stay free!!!! We are so glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our renovated rooms. Thanks for sharing your pleasant and happy experience. We hope to welcome you back in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed the weekend at the Red Roof Inn Gainesville. We spend many weekends in town during football season and this was our first time to book this hotel so didn't know what to expect. I have to say, this exceeded our expectations. Loved it and looking forward to our next stay there. The rooms were nicely renovated, clean and quiet. I would like to suggest that the hotel provide some upgraded coffee cups and at least some of the small containers of creamer. That powdered stuff is nasty.

Room Tip: This hotel is pet friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear TravelGal22SWFlorida,

We are so glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We cannot wait to welcome you back to our newly renovated rooms. Hope to have another chance to serve you in near future.

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When we booked the Red Roof Inn for $70 for a one night stay in Gainesville, we we somewhat skeptical. WHAT A VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE!! The front desk staff were very friendly, check-in a breeze. The room was clean, spacious, quiet, and nicely laid out. Only complaint: (too) small sample of shampoo provided. Loved the fact that pets stay FREE! Would DEFINITELY stay here again while visiting our UF student!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear b0cam0m,

Thank you for recognizing our friendly front desk staff. Providing clean and great value rooms to each every guest is our daily goal. We are so glad that you and your four legged family member loved our NEW rooms. Hope to have another chance to serve you in near future!!!!

Sincerely,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
352-336-3311
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.