We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HAPPY CUSTOMER !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HAPPY CUSTOMER !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Gainesville RED ROOF ... service was excellent. The front lady- receptionist was very helpful.. Our room is very clean. The price is reasonable ( I had my AAA discount ) I will highly recommend this hotel to anyone especially UF parents that needs to come to Gainesville..... ***** :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    69
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
95
55
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobe Sound, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Finding a dog friendly motel or hotel that's convenient, especially on a short notice emergency trip, is not easy. We found some that claim they're "dog friendly" have excessively high fees (Residence Inn for example) or restricted rooms, often smoking also which is taboo for us asthmatics-like Best Westerns do), we were dubious about the Red roof, but they had no restrictions, the location was easy access both to the hospital and many decent nearby restaurants. No crudy motel breakfast-but cooffee they do have-and nearby Waffle House was just excellent!! Best yet, the motel rate was only $50 nightly. Yes the towels and toiletries quality aren;t like the Hyatt, but the room was very decent sized, had a great working space, table for computer(free wi-fi) for eating in (with our sick doggie)and the desk and service were very nice and accommodating, especially when we were uncertain of our stay and check-out plans due to our hospital visit. The pool was clean, parking spacious and nearby grass areas great for pets. Kudos to Red roof, at least this location-a clean, well run bargain!

Room Tip: do give specail request instructions if a handicapped (even mildly) room, needed, an exit nearby, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We booked a room at this hotel based on the reviews and the cost of the room. The room had obiviously not been cleaned very well. The bathroom smelled of old urine and mold and there were at least 5 hairs on the shower wall. There was dust on the handle in the bathroom next to the tub. If the bathroom had been cleaned correctly, that shouldn't have been there. The sink looked like it needed a good bleaching and the floors needed vacuuming. The beds were also very hard. I will not return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0257, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Gainesville Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincerest apologies for lack of cleanliness you have brought up to my attention.

We have been known as a clean and comfortable hotel with a great value by customers who stayed over the years and we work very hard everyday to maintain our reputation. I am very disappointed to my staff who failed to meet your expectation.

At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future. Please know that we value you as our guest and appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your concerns and I hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you at Red Roof the next time your travel plans require lodging.

Very truly yours,

Euihee Prekler
General Manager
Gainesville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I live in Gainesville and know the area well. Occasionally I need a hotel and I've been staying here. It's clean and the people who work there are friendly. The pool is small and not really vacation friendly. They have coffee for free all day in the lobby but no continental breakfast. Most hotels in Gville of the same quality charge $20+ per room.

The beds are ok. It's by I-75. Make sure you don't get a room by the pole sign facing I-75 or the light will shine in your room all night.

Book it online. Some of the staff won't give you the same rate that you can book online. Once I had to go to the parking lot and confirm through my phone. It's my only complaint against this business.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Like the others below have been saying, this is a "plain jane" hotel. But it's just what we needed, a clean low cost place for a short stay. We were there two nights for a visit to UF with our daughter. Our room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. Seemed to be a safe area with many shopping and food places right down the street. If your looking for a money saver that's clean, this is the place. We paid $118. for two nights including tax. If your looking for high-end suite with room service look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a newer version of Red Roof Inn. Near Target, and a wide variety of resturants. We recommend Crispers. We have stayed here for the past 5 years for sporting events. Make sure you pay attention to the Gator schedules. This causes the prices to increase a lot for the whole city. Outdoor pool is nice. Coffee, no breakfast.

Room Tip: Away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here during a road trip. For the price you can not beat this hotel. Very clean, nice staff, very large room and a nice desk. Free Wi-Fi. We got a rate of $69. Much less than the other hotels close by. Don't pay the extra money. I am picky sometimes and can say will we be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville

Address: 3500 SW 42nd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Gainesville Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.