We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 SW 13th Street, Hwy 441 & Archer Road, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Ocal
1 review
“Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a pleasant stay. Quiet and clean with a very attentive staff. Would recommend for those looking for good value for a reasonable price. Good location to downtown, Shands, the VA and the University of Florida. Close to many good eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to let us know that you liked our great location
close to VA and Shands hospital, downtown as well as UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA with
our most reasonably priced clean and quiet rooms. We are glad to know that you liked our proximity to some good eating places. Thank you again for your stay and hope to serve your needs again.

Sincerely,
MP, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    29
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
18
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loudon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed on our way to Key West on vacation, cheap, quiet so ok for the night. Then we got a call we had forgot one of our credit cards in our room. Were very impressed with the staff and told them how much we appreciated their call and that we would definitely stop and stay there on our way back North. That was on Friday May 31st, today June 5th we were notified by our credit card company that some one had and was trying to use the card. So much for honesty, we will pursue criminal charges along with our credit card co.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to let us know about your stay. We are glad you liked our affordable price and a quiet room/ location. We were glad that we found your credit card and were able to inform you. You also indicated that someone tried to use the card but
was not clear whether it was from my hotel or where. .I have been managing this hotel for last 16 years and so far I am proud to say that there has not been a single incident so far of misuse of
guest's card.I left a message to talk to you to find out before I respond to you, yet I have not heard. If it is my staff, I like to know that right away so it help us to take appropriate steps. If not,
the review is not speaking correctly about my property and that part should be removed. I look forward to hear from you to make it right. Thank you again for your time.
General Manager, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHEVILLE
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I selected this hotel because it was the lowest price for the dates I wanted. It's old but was clean. The desk person was very efficient and helpful. I had asked for a "quiet" location and she recommended that I do a $4 upgrade to a king bed located in the front of the building. It was a quiet location except for abougt 30 minutes of yelling by the couple in the next room when they arrived. Interesting because the next night they did the same thing when they arrived. The location is near the University if that is where you need to be. If it's just an overnight stop, you may want to be out near the Interstate and save a couple of miles.

Room Tip: King room in front is a quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time and let us know your experience. I am thrilled to know that
you liked our affordable price,good location near UF and efficient staff. I am glad that it was quiet
location except a noisy neighbor. we wish you would have informed our desk and we would have requested them. We strive hard to keep our guest happy and hope you will try us again. Thank you for staying with us.

MP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Simple and functional. No BS. 20 min walk to UF. CVS and Dollar General right there. Adam's Rib, Sawamura Steak, Chinese and Thai buffet right there. Texaco right there. IHOP and adult supercenter down the street on 13th. What more do you want? Seriously. Go Gators! :)

Room Tip: King Bedrooms have the better TVs. Mike and Shilpa are great. Don't be stupid. Reserve here a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know that our hotel is simple but good
and you liked our convenient location with great value and near to 24 hr. CVS, dollar general store, and some restaurants in walking distance.
Our staff strive hard to give good service and value providing clean rooms and i am
glad that you had that experience. I look forward to serve your needs again soon.Thank you
again for your valued opinion.

MP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The rooms were dated but decent, and had a fridge and microwave which was nice. But, I got up in the middle of the night to use the restroom and was greeted by a dead roach. Aside from the rooms and convenient location to UF, the area itself seems very sketchy. We pulled up at night, and felt like we were about to be the subjects in a bad horror movie, where bad things always happen in motels. Had it not been late when we arrived, and had we not had to get up early, we would have tried to get a refund and looked for a place to stay where we felt more safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your stay and your opinion.I am glad you like our location near UF and refrigerator and microwaves in our rooms I am so sorry to learn that our routine pest treatment activity prior to your arrival caused discomfort by dead pest. Our property has well maintained clean rooms with affordable price and many of our guests likes our price.yes, we will be planning to update our tvs to flat panel and some furniture. When I saw you painted this area sketchy and unsafe,it made me feel ,did you stay at this property, as our record for the area and this hotel itself speaks for it.Our night staff is female and walks to their place of residence.we have about 16 flood lights lighting the place and staff for 24 hours.Sorry you felt that way but glad that your stay was safe.Actually,from what we all see happening around different cities,it is tough to call any area very safe.Thank you again for review. MP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pretty good place. A little outdated, but clean rooms. Check in was quick and easy. Good location, close to most everything you could want. No clock. No coffee pot or hair dryer, not a major problem. The carpet is dirty enough to make you feet black enough to leave footprints in the shower. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know that you liked our hotel
having clean rooms with great location close to many needed items for guest's stay. We are a budget friendly hotel and while keeping room rent affordable, we do not have coffee makers and iron in the room, however we have coffee in the lobby at 6am until 930am and iron, ironing board
and hair dryer available in the lobby which our guests have enjoyed.Being exterior hotel, we have
found that we have to shampoo room carpet often as they get tracked by guest waliking with shoes and in some cases we see them walking bare footed going to get ice etc. Thank you again
for your valued input which help us to keep our place in acceptable condition.I was glad to know, you will stay with us again.Looking forward to serve you again.
MP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great value, clean, large rooms, hot water, refrigerator, microwave..... everything I need. Inexpensive.....provides customer the basics.... I do not want fancy.... good bed, coffee in the morning, clean room, friendly staff......

Not all ameica best value inns are the same.... problem with choice hotels as well..... but this one was great..... if you want to stay at the hampton inn, hilton hotels, they are very consistent, but you pay twice or three times as much for the daily rate.... I am cheap, so I do not need to pay $150 a night for a 10 hour hotel stay.... Under $50 for gainesville america best value inn...great value !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnaba, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and letting us know how pleased you were about your stay. I
am thrilled to know that you liked our affordable price with clean room having refrigerator and
microwave, good hot shower with comfortable bed. I, as a manager take pride in providing
the basics of our guest's stay and many guest likes that. Our morning coffee is also appreciated with limited variety of readily available snacks. Again thanks for the kind remarks and I look forward to serving you in future with same or better stay.

MP, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1900 SW 13th Street, Hwy 441 & Archer Road, Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located within half mile of well known SHANDS AND VA HOSPITAL AND university of Florida. we have all groundfloor room with refrigerator and microwave, expanded cable with HBOmovie channel, courtyard pool and China Super Buffett restaurant.we are within walking distance of Subway, 24 hr .Steak and Shake,24 hropen CVS Pharmacy store and Dollar general store.we are only 2 mile toGainesville Downtown.The hotel take pride in providing clean, well maintained and affordably priced rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.