We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3905 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Baymont Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Neenah, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I think when we checked in was the nicest part of our entire stay! The rooms were not cleaned very well. Cobwebs everywhere!!!! GROSS! We had lady bugs, or Asian beetles, whatever they were, flying all over our room all night long. When we brought the to the front desks attention they wouldn't do a darn thing about it. They told us that it was "season" for them and they aren't allowed to kill them. Fine, whatever...but DO SOMETHING FOR US! Different room maybe? Nothing off out bill either!! It was completely disgusting! And rude!!!! NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear LsMom21209,

Thank you for your feedback of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am happy to read that you had a smooth check in. I am sorry that on this day you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the poor customer service and cleanliness of the room. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable feedback as this is our best resource of improving our services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    16
    14
    17
See reviews for
44
37
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

great proximity to just about anything, right next to the interstate, not very comfortable, alright for a quick place to stay, but I thought it was pretty expensive for a "non-football night" (not associated with a Gator game). come on people you're not running the Biltmore Hotel!!!

Room Tip: not next to the Interstate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear iceman2880,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We loved everything about this place. Well okay, the breakfast could have been a tad bit better but it had hot eggs and sausage, yogurt, sweet rolls and a little bit of fresh fruit, cereal and COFFEE, hot tea and cocoa. Pretty decent coffee at that. I didn't see make your own waffles and/or pancakes at this one, but that doesn't mean they weren't there because I was with a soccer team this time and in town for a tourney so the dining room was very crowded at 8AM. :-)

Our team manager booked a group of rooms for our team and we were given the choice of a regular room or a larger suite for $10 more. We had planned on having 2 more students with us so we booked the larger room. Honestly based upon the reservation experience which was when they finally got their phone system problems worked out (I was disconnected once and put on hold (which got connected to another guest by accident). But when I finally got through the reservation was so efficient that I thought something must have gone wrong. I confirmed a few days later just to be sure they had me in the system correctly and that was also very efficient. All I can figure is that they had been training a new girl. All that to say I was very pleasantly surprised when we approached the hotel to find it clean and even had some decorative touches that seemed above this category of hotel. There is a nice dining table in the lobby and a sign that says "no food or drink in the lobby". I found that strange since it's very close to the coffee service and the free freshly baked (WARM) cookies!!!

The elevators are a tad slow but as I mentioned the hotel was full. My biggest shock was when we opened the door to our hotel room and not only found 2 HUGE almost floor to ceiling windows but as we walked further into the room realized it continued around the corner in an "L" shape and there was another floor to ceiling window at the end of the "L". Actually picture a "7" without the slant with the door being and the bottom tip of the 7. The 2 (VERY COMFY) queen sized beds along the vertical line of the 7, a nice dining table and stand with micro and mini fridge in the corner (intersection) of the 7 and as you turn left around the corner ANOTHER TV, two nice easy chairs and a small love seat (that sits along the other window) in the horizontal part of the 7.

My son was thrilled since he needed a nice place to rest and do homework (also a college student) in between games. Since we're Priority Club members we also got a 2 PM check out and no one hurried us! We got back to the room at 1:40 after a rainy game on Sunday, my son jumped into a hot shower, we threw our few belongings together and were out by 2:02.

I washed his uniform on Saturday evening and huge it to dry in front of the air conditioner and the washer/dryer were very fairly priced!! I've been in hotels that it took $5 just to wash a couple uniforms in 1 load!

Needless to say our trip was pretty relaxing even in these circumstances and even considering we got some rain for the tournament.

Room Tip: I think it's worth it to upgrade to the "L" shaped suite. These suites are large and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Had no problems. Easy check in/out, free parking in well lit lot. Good breakfast in morning with lots of choices. Free wifi, easy to login. Clean and comfortable. Near the highway, but we didn't hear a single car from the room. Best rate in town by far when we were booking. Booked direct on Holiday Inn website for best price w/ discounts. Plus, no need to pay in advance, held room w/ cancellation up to 24 hours before w/ no fee. Will stay again and continue to use Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Quick overnight stay to break up a cross country drive. The hotel was in an excellent location with plenty of nearby shopping and restaurants. The room was fine (nothing special but nothing bad either), the staff were all very friendly, the bed was comfortable, and the hotel was reasonably priced. The free breakfast was an added perk. Would definitely stay again if visiting.

Room Tip: Free breakfast in the morning was worth waking up early for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

we stayed for an overnight on the way to Miami. This is a very clean hotel with friendly staff. my only issue was the bathroom needed some updating. there was a mildewing smell and the traction strips at the bottom of the tub were all coming up. The breakfast was decent.....eggs, bacon, sausage/biscuits, pancakes - typical stuff. The person helping in that area was very nice and attentive to the guests. It was a reasonable price for our family. It will definitely be out stop over place in the future.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My family if three had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Express December 22, 2012 while traveling to another destination in Florida. It was conveniently located off of I-75 in a well situated location in Gainsville. A Cracker Barrel was next door along with other resturants and shoping. The staff were extraordinarily courteous and helpful. We stayed in a suite with comfortable amenities. It was quite, very clean, secure, and in excellent condition. I would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express, without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW

Address: 3905 SW 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608 (Formerly Baymont Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy and charming Holiday Inn Express Hotel Gainesville, Florida is centrally located between the Wild Adventures and Walt Disney World theme parks. Just two miles from the University of Florida, home of the Florida Gators. This charming property is conveniently located off Interstate 75 Exit 384. Special in room amenities include free high speed internet, ceiling fans, free local calls, and fresh baked cookies every Monday through Thursday evening. BUSINESS: Nationwide Insurance, Farm Bureau Insurance, Gainesville Regional Airport HOSPITALS: Shands Hospital, Veteran Administration Medical Center, North Florida Regional Medical Center UNIVERSITIES: University of Florida, Santa Fe Community College Local Attractions are Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, Butterfly Museum, Payne s Prairie Reserve, Hippodrome Theatre, Haile Plantation Golf Course, and Gainesville Raceway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/i-75 Sw Hotel Gainesville
Holiday Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Holiday Inn Express

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gainesville/I-75 SW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.