We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here using special Fall rates so price was great. Easy access to Interstate and restaurants. Clean room with microwave, small sink, and refrigerator. Door closed and
opened easily and securely. Front desk personnel very friendly. Plenty of channels on TV.
Basic average do it yourself breakfast. Good coffee 24 hours a day. Only negatives were
thin worn out bedding. Blanket had cigarette holes. Tiny coffee maker in room was missing
a part rendering it useless but coffee available in lobby. Overall good value for the price.
For really good eats drive down Archer Rd to Wal-mart and you will find Bonefish Grill
beside of Wal-mart.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear blonomad,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. We are very pleased to know that not only were you able to enjoy the staff service and the room, but that you also appreciated how reasonable are Fall rates are this year. In addition, we are happy that you enjoyed going to Bonefish Grill, which is very conveniently located near our hotel. We are deeply sorry however, that you experienced dissatisfaction with the bedding and sheets that were on the bed in your room. After reading this review, we had the housekeeping staff remove all sheets, linens, and comforters that have any cigarette burns in them. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. During your next visit to Gainesville, please contact me directly, (352) 264-1771 ext. 2003, so I may discount the room rate for your stay. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    52
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
66
44
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florida/georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Front desk very polite - even helped my disabled GF get to the room. Got senior rate which was OK I thought - very convenient to I-75. Close to good eats. Unlimited hot water unlike at my house.
Only small negative was negative was that Breakfast rates only a "C" but a free see - you will get plenty to eat but nothing memorable.

Room Tip: 304 was close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear moadams,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. We are so happy that you were pleased with our front desk staff’s customer service and effort. We thank you for acknowledging that we are always here to help our guests whenever they are in need. We are glad that you enjoyed how close we are to 1-75 and that we always have hot water running constantly in our sinks and bathrooms. We apologize if the breakfast selection we offer, did not satisfy your needs. We will be looking into different ways to start offering other types of options for our complimentary breakfast in 2014. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great place to lay over for business or traveling.
Rooms are clean, nice and quiet
Close to Restaurants and shopping. Cracker Barrel is just down the street for a great breakfast or dinner.
Many nice places to eat. Cody's Roadhouse has great steaks and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear hootowltb,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. We are thrilled to here that the Comfort Inn University was able to meet your traveling needs, in regards to the clean and comfortable rooms. We are also pleased to know that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, and how close we are to many delicious restaurants, such as Cody’s Roadhouse and Cracker Barrel. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Being greeted with choc chip cookies was so nice! The 2-room suite is great value and added space relaxing! Overall value, recommend choice privileges membership. Close to
many restaurants, good for campus visit--millers ale house also recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jsa450,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. There is nothing more wonderful and fulfilling than being able to read such beautiful comments and reviews about our hotel. We are truly blessed to have such wonderful and thoughtful guests stay with us day after day. Making our guests feel both comfortable and at home at our property, is what we strive for everyday. All of the staff here are so happy that we could make your stay so enjoyable and fun. On behalf of the Comfort Inn University, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois or Panama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stopped enroute just for overnight. The senior rate was good, the room was average at best - the air conditioner didn't seem to work with the thermostat and we had a choice to freeze or turn it off, so we turned it off. The breakfast wasn't nearly as good as some other places we've stayed, but it was hot and the room less expensive, so maybe it was OK. They were out of coffee when we got to breakfast, but when we mentioned it to the young lady at the desk, she brought out more right away. Overall OK for an overnight stop.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JSI2802,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in October. All of our staff are deeply sorry that your time at our hotel was not a pleasant experience for both you and your family. We have looked into the air condition unit issues, and our maintenance staff has fixed the thermostat problems, so that this will not be a nuisance to yourself or any other guest in the future. We also apologize if there was any issue with our breakfast in the morning, and we are glad that are our front desk staff was able to assist you immediately in fixing the issue. It is very important for us to make sure all our guests enjoy their breakfast, so thank you for letting us know about some of your concerns. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very impressed with the staff especially Matthew. Rooms are very comfortable, and clean. Would highly recommend. Location is fabulous. Many choices but the staff make this hotel very enjoyable. Breakfast very clean and nicely presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Beth K,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September and October. Being that I am the Matthew you were writing about, I personally want to thank you for your kind and generous words. I can only express how thrilled I am that you have been pleased with our staff’s customer service and attentiveness, especially from me. The entire staff at this hotel is grateful that you truly appreciate not only the property, but also the people that make this place great every day. Thank you so much. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Staff at this Hotel is 2nd to none for this type of Hotel. We travel to Gville for Gator Games and this Hotel is the best we have found that is Pet Friendly. The showers could be remodeled but they are acceptable and the rooms have Ref/Microwaves. My problem is with the Chain. I used my Choice CC and booked the room 3 months in advance. The room was actually $5 less on Hotels.com but I booked with Choice.com I read the room was nonrefundable but missed the paid in advance. Had to pay 3 months before my stay. This was the 2nd time I could have gotten a lower rate by not using my Choice account. Makes no sense to me that you charge your loyal customers more. Not happy about that.. Shop before you buy and read the small print...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chuck P,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. We are so happy that you were pleased with our staff’s customer service and effort. We appreciate the fact that you have let us know about the issues you were having with the ChoiceHotels.com main booking website. We have sent a complaint report to Choice’s main webpage, so that situations like this will be avoided in the future. We hope that you continue to support the Comfort Inn University, as well as all of the other different brands Choice Hotels offers. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Family Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.