We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Choice Hotel Membership” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Special TripAdvisor Offer
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lakeland, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware of Choice Hotel Membership”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Staff at this Hotel is 2nd to none for this type of Hotel. We travel to Gville for Gator Games and this Hotel is the best we have found that is Pet Friendly. The showers could be remodeled but they are acceptable and the rooms have Ref/Microwaves. My problem is with the Chain. I used my Choice CC and booked the room 3 months in advance. The room was actually $5 less on Hotels.com but I booked with Choice.com I read the room was nonrefundable but missed the paid in advance. Had to pay 3 months before my stay. This was the 2nd time I could have gotten a lower rate by not using my Choice account. Makes no sense to me that you charge your loyal customers more. Not happy about that.. Shop before you buy and read the small print...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chuck P,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. We are so happy that you were pleased with our staff’s customer service and effort. We appreciate the fact that you have let us know about the issues you were having with the ChoiceHotels.com main booking website. We have sent a complaint report to Choice’s main webpage, so that situations like this will be avoided in the future. We hope that you continue to support the Comfort Inn University, as well as all of the other different brands Choice Hotels offers. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    59
    25
    6
    8
See reviews for
71
53
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night while visiting our daughter at UF and overall enjoyed our stay. The Front Office Manager that checked us in was outstanding even asking my wife if she needed assistance with her luggage and opening the door for her and offering us fresh baked cookies. We had a pet-friendly room on the 1st floor that is in need of some furniture upgrade and a deep cleaning in the bathroom, from the exhaust fan to the bathroom caulking. We know that the room we had was pet- friendly but smelled very bad- like cat urine. Breakfast had hot and cold items. Very good location and a lot of shops and restaurants around. Would stay here again if needed. Liked that it was pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear ILIVEFORTHISFLORIDA,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. We are so happy that you and your family truly appreciated the excellent service our Front Desk Manager exhibits for every guest that he checks in at the hotel. We love to make sure that our guests feel both comfortable and at home when they choose to stay at the Comfort Inn University. We are also glad that you let us know about the animal odor in one of our pet friendly rooms. The cleaning staff has been informed, and we will be sure that our pet friendly rooms have a more appealing fragrance for now on. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the minute we got off of the elevator to the 4th floor, it smelled like an ashtray. Then we walked in our room and could barely breathe. it had the nastiest stale cigarette smell. we had to go out and buy air freshener and keep the door open for a little while to let it air out. then the couple that we were traveling with had a room across the hall and it felt like a sauna when you walked in the room, the AC was messed up. The front desk was quick to come up and send them to another room, but this one too smelled of fresh cigarette smoke. This was one of the nastiest hotels we have stayed in. we have stayed in another comfort inn that was about $20 cheaper and alot cleaner, nicer, and had a much better breakfast. Also.. might want to bring your own pillow.And remove the top comforter, it will probably have stains all over it like ours did. they provide 4 square pillows that feel like a bag of cotton balls. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are just desperate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear mistileigh725,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in September. All of our staff are deeply sorry that your time at our hotel was not a pleasant experience for both you and the other guests that stayed with us. In the future, we shall make sure to inform every single guest that is either booking a room at our hotel or currently staying at the hotel that the 4th floor does contain a few smoking rooms, and may cause an odor to be prominent in both the hallways and other rooms. Please contact me directly, (352) 264-1771 ext. 2003, so you and I may discuss the best way that we may rectify this situation. We really hope that this miss-communication and your previous experience will not hinder a relationship that we would love to build with you here at the hotel. On behalf of all of the staff at the hotel, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Up to this point I have never written a review before but our trip to Gainesville, FL and our stay at the Comfort Inn was exceptional. We got a very warm welcome from the desk clerk and made me feel like we have met before. Our room on first floor was neat and clean and comfortable. Actually all the staff were friendly and there happy to serve. Breakfast included hot items and the best coffee ever. The manager clearly enjoyed his job and was so helpful. If ever in Gainesville, FL again this is where we stay. I forgot to mention was an excellent price for rooms. Thank you Comfort Inn for a great stay.

Room Tip: First floor was very nice for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear MaryAnnO2013,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in August. Making our guests feel both comfortable and at home at our property, is what we strive for everyday. All our staff are so happy that we could make you and your family’s stay so enjoyable and fun. We love that you were quite pleased with our coffee and breakfast items. On your next stay in Gainesville, please contact me directly so we can apply an additional discount for being a TripAdvisor reviewer. On behalf of the Comfort Inn University, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumuckla, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We (hubby, 2 TA boys) decided at last minute to go to Alachua, FL to watch Softball tournaments. Since the teams were staying in The Lodge just down the road, hubby booked this hotel. It was just right for our needs--sleep and take showers. Stayed TH, FR and SA nights. It was a wee bit crowded with 4 bodies in the room but workable. Our room had 2 queen beds, microwave, small refrigerator and small coffee maker. on day 2, maid was in hall and exchanged our towels when asked. (told her not to bother cleaning room as we have teenagers!) Location is convenient off I-75 with turn light to access road where row of hotels are at. At light area (without crossing main road) is Dairy Queen, Arby's, and mcDonald. Shopping area also with Target, Old navy and other smaller shops. Across the main road is Burger King and other restaurants. Would recommend this hotel for short stopover stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Watshakin,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in August. We are thrilled that you enjoyed how convenient and close our hotel is to all the shopping centers that are on Archer Road. We are proud to have our hotel’s location right off of the I-75 interstate because our guests are not only able to stay at our facility, but also shop and dine at some of the best plazas in the city of Gainesville. On your next stay in Gainesville, please contact me directly so we can apply an additional discount for being a TripAdvisor reviewer. On behalf of all our staff, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

When I recieved my ittinerary stating Comfort Inn, I was less than thrilled. My negativity was not founded. The property is set off Archer Rd in hotel row, so plenty f competition. The lobby area has bistro tables for breakfast overflow with dried flowwer arrangements. Someone tried. The front desk clerk was so friendly and hosptiable I thought I was at 5 star!!! All staff I ecountered during my week long stay were just fine,, ousekeeping bringing up the rear. The rooms are average for this brand, but with those dreaded green bedspread/comforters. The shhets on one bed were so threadbare I thought there was a pattern on the sheet, the same for the curtains. When pulled shut the sun came trough like swiss cheese! The beds were comfy, on the firm side with 4 square pillos. Note to management-people like rectangular pillows so our heads dont roll off!! The rooms come with a micro fridge, and a pull out couch seating area. The rooms are large and well appointed for this price point. The walls are a different story. The first 2 nights a sports team was in the house, the 3rd night I got newlyweds, so be careful where they put you, as complaining about the noise did little to solve problem. The breakfast is standard, bland, frozen and powdered everythng. Great for kids and those with sore teeth. Once again staff saves the day with the friendly smile and willingness to help. Overall an okay stay. I would return here without hesitation. Not luxury, but you usually sleep pretty good, great for overnight stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Franklin Milford,
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel in July. Our staff, especially our front desk clerks, really appreciate that you and your family recognized and enjoyed how friendly and hospitable we are to all our guests. Currently, we are in the process of changing our bed sheets, bed comforters, linens, window drapes, and bedroom pillows for all our rooms. We want to make sure that our bedrooms are not only extremely comfortable, but very attractive as well. In addition, we apologize for any disturbances that you may have had while sleeping, and for breakfast not being what you and your family were hoping for. Our breakfast is catered as a buffet style, where we put out an assortment of all different types of breakfast favorites, so guests can have options as to what they want to eat. However, it is important for us to make sure all our guests enjoy their breakfast, so thank you for letting us know about some of your concerns. On your next stay in Gainesville, please contact me directly so we can apply an additional discount for being a TripAdvisor reviewer. On behalf of the Comfort Inn University, thank you for staying here at the Comfort Inn University, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Best Regards,
Matthew Sarrell
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel could easily be a Comfort Suites with an upgrade to the decor. With that being said you really get a nice place to rest and recharge for a great rate. Staff is excellent and willing to bend over backwards for you. I stay in hotels about 300 nights a year and front desk manager Andrew is one of the best in the business.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor if possible. Lots of college athletics teams stay here when playing the Gators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIWGeneralManager, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! I appreciate the grate feedback
for the Comfort Inn University Gainesville, FL and have passed it along to our team. We contiinue to strive to make each and every stay great and gracious for feedback to know when we have succeeded. I hope you continue to stay with us when you are in Gainesville in the future.

Jay Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.