We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Youngsville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Warm cookies were offered and smelled great. With a travel hotel coupon price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Back rooms get a lot of noise from the interstate. Ask for a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
 Here at the Comfort Inn West we always enjoy hearing from our guests! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    52
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
65
44
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Check-in went well with very friendly employees. They have fresh baked cookies around dinner, but three times I went the plate was empty.

Bringing luggage in is somewhat a challenge for those with rooms on the ends because of the way parking is laid out. The two end entrances are open to card holders, but don't have formal sidewalks up to them. To get from parking to our room required you to drag bags through mulch and around small bushes. The other end of the hotel was closer to the parking lot of the hotel next door. Might consider formal sidewalks to these doors. Front entry way can be used, but parking is limited.

Rooms are very VERY nice for this level hotel. Four pillows per bed was a superb touch. Bed had a comforter, along with a warm blanket. Nice & cozy. Hotel was very quiet (our room was on the non-interstate side).

Room has a microwave and separate hot water maker for the provided tea and coffee. There is a large mini-fridge, bar sink and counter top. The free in-room safe is a great idea.

Bathroom: Amenities included shampoo, skin lotion and two bars of soap. Plenty of fluffy towels. Tub was pretty clean, although drain was rusted out. Wonder why that hadn't been corrected.

Breakfast buffet was great. Both regular & blueberry waffles. Biscuits with sausage gravy. Toaster for bread & bagels. Hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, muffins, oatmeal, cereal, bananas. Many drink options. Nice job!

Easy walk to numerous restaurants and the Target shopping center next door.

I have stayed in many, many hotels around Gainesville in the past 20 years and this has become one of my favorites in this price range.

Room Tip: Request room on the non-interstate side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
We are glad to hear the Comfort Inn West is one of your favorite hotels in the area. Thank you for your review and your thoughts will be shared at our next management meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stay here every year when we go to Fl. The desk staff is very accomodating and helpful. Andrew was the desk person and was very helpful and friendly.
Rooms are clean. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is above most breakfasts with a lot of
variety. Good location. If you are a light sleeper, ask to have a room in the front.
Will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Great staff. Gps coordinate don't take you to the right spot. Glitch in system. Clean, quiet, great shower, lots of hot water

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Taking the time to give us such a nice review is greatly appreciated here at the Comfort Inn West. We are sorry about the gps problem and hope it was not to much of a problem. We hope to see you again when you travel back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is an older building, that can use some TLC. The lights were dim in the room, along with dark blanket and comforter. I like white covers in hotels so i can see that it is clean. There were dirty smudges on the wall by the bed, along with mysterious red smears on the ceiling in the bathroom. The water pressure was VERY stong in the shower, which hurt. The top shelf in the fridge (the freezer) was dirty, i put my stuff in a bag and then put it in the freezer. The food was juice at breakfast was NOT good. The make your own waffles were good as any hotel. They only had instant oatmeal and instant grits, the eggs were probably egg substitutes, and they were bland. The cloth chairs were dirty at breakfast. They need to do some cleaning.. and maybe not advertise pictures of pets in the beds! This would not be my first choice of hotel in Gainesville.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. The problems you mentioned were brought to the attention of our housekeeping department and have been addressed. We also regret to hear about your dissatisfaction in the hot breakfast you experienced and would like to let you know that we have been working hard to make certain our guests receive a breakfast that offers hot, fresh and healthy options. I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gainesville Comfort Inn after a University of Florida football game.
The hotel is just off I-75 and close to restaurants, shops and the university. There was some road construction that made getting to the hotel harder but not too much of an inconvience.
This is a newer hotel in a safe area of town. Front desk clerk was helpful and an obvious
Gator fan by the U of F jersey he was wearing. Our room was comfortable with a microwave
but just a single cup coffee maker....a personal preferrence, I like a regular 4 cup coffee maker but my wife likes the single. No ice on our 2nd floor had to go to the first to fill the ice bucket. The bed was comfortable and the hotel has free wi-fi. I would recommend the Comfort Inn when staying in Gainesville, Go Gators!

Room Tip: if you like ice...ask for a room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
 We always enjoy hearing from our guests here at the Comfort Inn West! Thank you for posting such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

There was some damage to my moms condo due to a burst water pipe, and most of her condo was under 2 inches of water. She is elderly and uses a walker to get around. We moved her to the Comfort Inn West. Everyone who works there has been exceptionally nice to her. When we visit, the ask us if she would like fresh baked cookies. If she goes out during the day, when they see her returning the front desk people go to the front door and hold the doors open for her. It's small things like this that show exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
We are glad to your mom had a good stay with us at the Comfort Inn West. Thank you for a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3440 Southwest 40th Blvd., Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn West Hotel Gainesville
Comfort Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Comfort Inn
West Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.