We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville to your Saves list
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Marianna, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Checked in for a 2 night stay for a conference on the premises. Check-in was quick and staff accommodating. They told me that room that I was assigned was on a pet-friendly floor, and since I'm not much for pets I asked to be moved and they accommodated my request. Cleanliness of the hotel is the issue that I had. The ice machine had trash and "stuff" in the drain pan area and the guest room wasn't clean, especially the bed. Housekeeping responded to correct the problem. Conference area was maintained adequately and the meals provided for the conference were good. Parking lot was adequate and well-maintained. A little concerned when there was 2 or 3 police on the premises in the evenings. Someone reminded me "It is a college town." Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    164
    85
    51
    23
See reviews for
200
61
32
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The front desk staff was awesome! Great work taking care of our family! Especially need to commend Sonya for her hard work. She went above and beyond to hep us out! The staff was attentive and friendly. Everything went smoothly from check in to check out.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 2 days ago
David,
Thank you for the great comments from your recent stay with us. It was great to ready how attentive and friendly the staff was. We also hope that all worked out for the special weekend you had with your family.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel, while very nicely appointed, does not offer free internet in the guest rooms unless you are a member of their awards program. Also - the rooms do not have refrigerators. This was a big disappointment to us. We did not make travel arrangements, our employer did. We actually selected another nearby hotel which offered free internet, refrigerators in the room, and breakfast (aka more coffee!). Unfortunately the person making the arrangements for us thought we would rather stay here, and without asking, booked the room. Adding the cost of Internet access ($10/day) raises the cost for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Holly V,
Thank you for the comments about your recent stay with us. We are looking at the possibility of refrigerators in our rooms, however at the present time we do have some available upon request.
Holly we do appreciate the feedback and they all get shared with the entire team. If your travels do bring you back please let me know at tmacdonald@hiltongainesvilleuf.com.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Visits like this remind me why I switched my patronage to the Marriott brand. It LOOKS wonderful - impressive lobby, on-site restaurant, location across the street from a section of UF campus. And then you discover the flaws. The wi-fi (which is available for a fee to non-Elite HHonors members) is so sporadic that it's nearly unusable. Just in the time I wrote this review I was disconnected twice. Maybe they should get the UF IT dept to come over and help them out. Similar television service but I give benefit of the doubt as dish satellite reception is iffy by nature. As other reviewers have commented, the room is more than adequate to house two queen beds instead of the two twins - why isn't this facility upgrade accomplished? An additional sink outside the shower area would be of use as well.

Perhaps the hotel makes enough money as a result of its conference center accommodating local proms and such and its location near to both UF and SHANDS, but I've had many superior stays at lower tier Hilton hotels (Hilton Garden Inn I'm looking at you). Skip the nice facade and stay at a hotel that delivers on room accommodations - there are better choices within a 10 minute drive.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 3 days ago
rwetheryet850,
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry about the internet connection we have contacted the service provider and they are researching the issues that you have mentioned. If you could please contact me I would like some more information so that we can get the wifi corrected, I can be reached at tmacdonald@hiltongainesvilleuf.com, or 352.384.3416.
We very much appreciate your comments and I have shared them with our entire team. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nice hotel with friendly staff and free parking! A bit farther from downtown Gainesville than I would have liked. A very suburban feel with strip malls nearby. Very poor wifi. Walls were thin which made the room noisy even though it sounded as if the person in the next room was merely making a phone call.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Richard,
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry you had issues with the wifi, was it connection or the speed?
We very much appreciate the feedback from our guests and we review all that we receive. When your travels bring you to Gainesville again we hope to see you.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed here one evening with some friends traveling south. The room was clean and had new decor. I had no complaints at all. Breakfast was buffet style and had anything you could want. Very delicious.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aga427,
Thank you for the comments from your recent stay with friends. Hope your travels went well, and we appreciate the time you took to provide the feedback that you did. It is great to hear that the buffet had everything you were looking for and was delicious.
Safe travels when you head back north, and we look forward to the possibility of seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We specifically asked for an outdoor pool when we were making reservations. We were told there was an outdoor pool available for our stay. The pool was under maintence the entire time we were there. The smoke detector in our room went off 3 different times during the night with one loud beep each time. Other than that it was nice, comfortable, and clean.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, 3 days ago
60sherellec,
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the pool was not available for use during the time that you were here. We are making some improvements on it has to be closed during that time. I will make sure that your comments are shared with the rest of our teams.
Once again thank you and if your travels bring you to Gainesville again please let us know.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.