We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Save Saved
You added Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed here several times for business. The location is good with lots of restaurant choices in the area. The room is nice, the hotel is clean and well kept up. The staff is helpful and service-oriented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Kathleen103
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to hear from our repeat guests. Please let me know when you will be back to Gainesville again.

Warm Regards,

Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    127
    61
    31
    21
See reviews for
150
48
23
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the best hotel in the area to stay for a quick visit to Gainesville for my niece's baby shower. The Gators were out of town, so this was perfect. Beautiful rooms, reasonably priced, staff was very helpful, great gym and pool.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear JoanL1959,
Thank you for the five star review about your recent stay with us here at the Hilton in Gainesville. We are very pleased with the service that our staff does provide to each and every guest.
Next time you are planning a trip please let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Not impressed with this hotel. I consider a Hilton to be a step above your average chain hotel, but this property was mediocre at best. Very convenient to UF, very nice pool and workout area but the service was lacking. Check in was poor, was told there were no kings available despite having booked it months ago. When pressured, the clerk did manage to find a king room. Check in took entirely too long as a result. No free breakfast, no tissues in bathroom, room not made up as of 2 pm so far, Internet goes out constantly, not free in rooms, no newspapers offered. These amenities are commonly found in lesser chains. No real reason to stay at this property unless here for a conference. Not cheap either.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Blujewel,
I very much appreciate the feedback that you provided about your stay at the Hilton Gainesville Hotel & Conference Center. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have spoken with the front office team about your concerns and we have worked to correct the issues you experienced. I have also spoken with our housekeeping team about the issues in the guest room, and those have been corrected as well.
Blujewel, please let me know next time your travels bring you to Gainesville as I hope we can show you that what you experienced is not standard. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Friendly,helpful staff,clean facilities,would stay again. I recommend this facility without any hesitations,location is on campus,very convenient to students and families. Five minutes from Shands,excellent place to stay for the big game no matter who you are routing for. Alot of Tebow pictures,who doesn't like and respect Tebow!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Robert H,
Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. We do have a very convenient location to Shands, UF and "The Swamp". You are correct we do welcome both sides during all events, from Volleyball to Soccer, and Football alike.
We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next trip to Gainesville.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Conveniently located to campus with shuttle transportation to the stadium right out the front door. Staff were friendly and efficiently even to the opposing team fans. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ellen R,
Thank you very much for the five star review about your recent stay at the Hilton Gainesville. It was great to hear that you had a good stay, and that all breakfast was excellent.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, and please let us know when you return.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location and excellent staff. I visited for a University of Florida football weekend so the price was much higher than the typical rate. But the convenience due to location and transportation to and from the game made it an excellent experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Ronald F,
Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at the Hilton Gainesville during football weekend. Our location is very convenient to the stadium and we are pleased you had an excellent experience.
Please let us know when your travels bring you back to Gainesville again.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're coming to Gainesville to visit UF, this is a viable choice with a convenient location. However, the hotel needs some general renovations. Staff is friendly & helpful but front desk takes forever to answer! Limited rooms with king beds, so I was stuck with 2 doubles and there's only one of me!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom m, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Erin J,
We very much appreciate your feedback from your recent stay at the Hilton Gainesville. I am sorry that it took some time to answer the telephone. I have worked personally with the front office team and we are working to improve our response time. I have also spoken with our engineering team and we are working on improvements to the entire property.
Erin, please let us know when your travels bring you back to Gainesville.

Warm Regards,
Tom MacDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.