We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have always enjoyed the UF Hilton but I noticed that the service has slipped.the hot and cold water handles in the room were switched. There was no complimentary shampoo bottle. The front desk personnel were nice but the bar attendants seemed to be bothered if one sked for a drink.
They need a re-emphasis on customer service.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    130
    63
    32
    22
See reviews for
157
49
24
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had a lot of problems with my reservation -- it was messed up several times, despite several calls and it seems fixible -- BUT the manager and staff were very upfront and friendly, and they handled the issue. Frustrating, but these were honest and concerned people. This hotel was a little nicer than I expected -- the room (7th floor in the corner) was a nice size for two people with two dbls and it was in great shape. The floors, the food and esp the service were great. We are rival fans, and everyone was nice -- I enjoyed the breakfast. The walk to Gator games is a little ways -- say a mile to football and both bballs -- but it is a lovely walk up muesem drive or whatever. This is not the active side of campus, but I would certainly stay here again if I were coming for an ath event. Overall, if you are looking for a very nice hotel for a weekend in g'ville around the school, I think this is your best choice. They may need to fix a few things in terms of reservations, but the facility and staff is very nice. Bottom line: I would certainly come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As the coach of a college team, we stayed at the hotel last weekend to play at UF and had an excellent experience. Traveling with a group of 30 can be challenging, but the hotel's Director of Food and Beverage went above and beyond to accommodate all of our needs during our stay. We only ate breakfast on the premises, but the buffet had a wide variety of food to keep the entire team happy. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Typical conference hotel experience, just on a smaller scale. Staff underqualified. Rooms are so-so; you can hear everything in rooms all around you, so in that regard it is like a much cheaper motel. Food also so-so in quality. One room-service staffer made inappropriate comments in front of small children. Cleaning crew flubbed something every day, from not enough towels (it was no mystery that there is a family of 4, so you need 4 towels), to no coffee pods, to not replacing bottled water--each glitch requires a call to the desk, and then a wait. Don't know if there are better options in Gainesville, but it is worth looking around for them if you have to go there. This one was overpriced, even with a special rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Not the best stay we have ever had, but good enough for a couple of nights. Ill tempered check-in clerk, small room with elderly furnishings for the price, not particularly quiet (ice machine at door). Did not bother with the breakfast (not included). The lobby is pleasant, but you have to pay for a newspaper! No check out problems, but on arrival home found that Hilton points had not been credited - unbelievably they had no record of the stay! So tedious business of scanning the bill, emailing a couple of times and finally receiving after a month. Sorry Hilton you are not our favourite US hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here last weekend to see the UF basketball game. The game wasn't until 7pm so we were swayed here for the in house food option. We sure weren't disappointed. We had a late dinner in the 2bits lounge, which was very good. The service was great, the atmosphere was super and we felt quite at home. We also loved the option of having a "still in theaters movie," in the room. Got to catch up on some of the Oscar nominations prior to the Oscar awards on Sunday.happened on Yes it does cost, but much nicer than going to the theater. This would have been 5 stars if the carpets were cleaned or replaced. I think it must be about time. The bed however, is amazing!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

While this hotel has the best location it's value is not the best. I recommend the Hilton Garden Inn. The staff is much frindlier at the garden inn. The chef at the beeakfast buffet in the Hilton is not friendly at all and needs a lesson on what customer service is all about. The maid only left two towels even thought the room was a double bed one.

The property itself is nice but service needs to be improved.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.