We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #12 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great hotel, very clean, nice staff, good area, everything you need they have, really a great hotel.

The only weird thing is the light switch in the bathroom was a little touchy. It seemed to work sometimes and not others, not sure if it was me or the switch.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    129
    62
    32
    21
See reviews for
157
49
24
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here one night due to being a Hilton HHonors member. The hotel and rooms are great. And the lobby is posh and second-to-none. However, I am giving this place only 3 stars due to one of the *worst* front desk clerks I have ever met, and I have traveled all over the world, so that is saying a lot.
She worked during the day on Friday, October 26th, and I won't put her name here, lest it be removed. But Hilton should be ashamed of hiring such a lazy, rude, and useless front desk clerk. Many guests were waiting to check-in, even though rooms were ready. She should be hitting the unemployment line, if there is any justice in the world.
(by comparison, the next morning, the front desk clerks were awesome)
I most likely will never return to this location again, because of that one horrible person. In a hotel, the first impression you get is of the person welcoming you. She was someone who refused to take any action to help anyone, coming up with every excuse in the book. Terrible.
p.s.: The location isn't actually in the cool part of UF. You will need a car to get to the hip spots of W University Ave. If you're looking to walk in the fun parts of downtown, this is NOT the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonUF, Front Office Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear CanadianTimelord,

I first want to apologize for your experience at our hotel. I am deeply sorry that you did not get the service we want all of our guest to receive when they stay with us. If you can please email me at Jason.keltz@hilton.com so you can provide me with more details and I can address the issue you had with the front desk agent promptly. I thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to let us know how we can improve our services as I hope you will give us a second chance so we can show you what you experienced was not the norm.

Thank you

HiltonUF
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Alright. I haven't stayed here for a few years. But it is a Hilton. I can rely on quality maintaining. Right? Wrong! This nice hotel right across from University of Florida has felt the depression. I don't mean economically speaking, necessarily; but as it would be defined by psychologists. Somebody in management of this hotel is depressed and that has filtered into how this hotel is maintained. First, the bathroom in our room: the tub is in a state of obvious disrepair - but nothing that some fresh calk couldn't fix. There is mildew between tiles and the curtain is also mildewed. The vent is full of dust and who-knows-what-else. And there was that dead roach by the bed... We went for the $15 buffet breakfast on Friday mining. No glasses out for juice. The omelette station featured empty condiment holders and the cook attempting to clean a pan that ha stuck- on egg with a dirty rag. I have been here 3 days and cannot bring myself to order an omelette. Then there are these strangely designed booths that look like they are encircled by mattresses. All in all, this hotel can be fixed with just someone paying attention. It can't be that hard.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear FoodKnight1
Thank you for staying with us at our hotel and I appreciate your honesty. We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and daily operations. We appreciate your loyalty to us and to our brand and we're sorry we let you down. I can assure you that the health and safety of our guest is a top priority and we've work with a pest control company to rectify any possible issue. I've also talked to our housekeeping staff about our strict protocols for servicing rooms and emphasized the importance of a fresh appearance for our guests.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you return for much better experience.

Wagih William
Director of Food & Beverage
wwilliam@hiltongainesvilleuf.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I routinely travel to Gainesville for business and, whenever possible, I stay at the UF Hilton on 34th St. This hotel is meticulously maintained and I know that every detail will be attended to my fullest satisfaction. I also like that the hotel is a very short drive from almost everywhere in Gainesville, and right across the street from the University of Florida.

My typical stay is for one or two nights, in a standard king room, when available. The rooms are always spotless, and the beds and bedding are very comfortable. If time permits, I make a point to have breakfast during my stay, as the breakfast buffet is fantastic and the staff are very warm and welcoming. I also appreciate that almost every hotel employee makes it a point to greet me with a smile and ask how my stay is going. Whenever I have other colleagues in need of a place to stay, I always point them to the UF Hilton Conference Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Man what a great place to stay! Exactly what you would expect from a Hilton property. I have stayed here a couple of times on business and have never been let down. The staff is amazing. I stayed here the first time earlier this year and we had reserved the board room. However we were given a much smaller room. Once the staff realized the mix up they came and got us and helped us move to the right room. The staff makes this hotel. This time, I had 4 major packages shipped to the hotel. All arrived and were handled with care. Rooms are average size but well appointed. Close proximity to the university is an extra benefit. Parking can be a little tricky due to the fact that they stay so busy, but there is plenty of parking spaces. If you stay here go to what the locals call midtown and eat at The Swamp, nice place to hang out and watch a game on their outdoor big screen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed here for 4 days. The hotel was clean and well kept; the beds and linens were particularly comfortable. Staff at the front desk were friendly and check in was quick and easy. Breakfast was pricey but excellent. Unfortunately, a barking dog at the end of the hall in the room next to mine on the 7th floor began to really irritate me. Now this wasn’t a bark here or there, but rather continuous, loud barking. Security was finally called and they had to enter the room to calm the poor dog down. I was told that dogs are not allowed on the 7th floor and that the dog would be removed. Early the next morning, I was again woken up to the barking of this dog. Despite assurances to the contrary, the dog and its owner were never moved. I asked to speak to the manager, Tony Trustee, but was told he was not available. I called Hilton customer service and was directed to their comments page on its website. I submitted my comments – primarily that the hotel is not honoring its own policies on pets. At $500 per night (game day weekend), I should have been afforded the right to relax in tranquility and sleep peacefully. It has been 10 days since I submitted my comments to Hilton and aside from an automatic response upon submission, there has been no follow-up on Hilton’s end. The lack of concern – particularly to a very frequent guest – is disconcerting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here 3 days while on business at the University of Florida. It is convient to campus (I would guess about 1.5 miles away). The hotel and rooms are modern, clean and well kept. I enjoyed the quiteness very much and my bed/bedding was very good. I had breakfast at the restaurant and the buffet was quite good for the price ($15). I would definitely stay here agian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville

Address: 1714 SW 34th Street, Gainesville, FL 32607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Southwest corner of the University of Florida campus, in the heart of “Gator Nation”, Hilton University of Florida is the perfect spot for conducting essential business without missing out on the pleasure. This property has been completely renovated in the last three years, offers complimentary wireless internet in our lobby, complimentary parking, and a complimentray business center for guest use. A full service restaurant is available for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Two Bit's lounge or room service can make your day easier. Visit the Olympic size outdoor pool or our complimentary fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Florida Conference Center Gainesville Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Hotel Gainesville
Hilton Gainesville
Gainesville Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.