We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Vegans or Omnivores. Not good for groups over four.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jones Eastside - CLOSED

The Jones Eastside
401 NE 23rd Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32609
352.373.6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Bistro, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for Vegans or Omnivores. Not good for groups over four.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really great food and once we were seated the food came out quickly. However, since we had five people and this is a very tiny restaurant, we had quite a wait for brunch. Parties with four or less got seated very quickly.
For my full review with pictures, see my blog: http://vegouttoeat.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/the-jones-eastside-gainesville-florida/

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    72
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Extremely good for our breakfast, but might not be for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

There was an interesting variety of menu items to choose from, and we all had very different selections. The staff was friendly and the food came promptly. They pleasantly accommodated dietary preferences. The restaurant is not fancy, or elegantly appointed but it is small. It did hit the spot for a casual visit with friends. The food was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hipsters galore”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to this over-hyped eatery with a local friend. Food was bland and to be honest just weird. Would not recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food... unprofessional staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After our first visit, we were very impressed with the food -- original offerings prepared with a flair. The atmosphere and staff however, began to wear a little thin. Customers should not be aware that employees have lives packed with drama and are dealing with complex social/emotional issues. This place may be have the makings for a reality show but for fine dining, I think we'll move on.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“High Priced, Limited Menu and Cramped Seating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We ate dinner here while in the area from out of town, because we saw all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and my wife is vegetarian.

(The Good):
-Food was fresh and tasted good.
-Friendly staff

(The Bad):
- Very limited menu selection (a dozen choices or less)
- Very limited seating (this is a tiny place in a run-down strip mall) - seats around 15 - 20 people max in whole restaurant.
- Way Way overpriced
- Rough area of town
- Didn't really give an impression of being very clean

Overall thoughts: Good idea and concept but very limited menu choices, high prices and cramped seating area have me thinking we won't return until some changes occur.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jones Eastside also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jones Eastside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.