We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunchtime spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vellos Historic Brickstreet Grill

Vellos Historic Brickstreet Grill
115 SE 1st ST, Gainesville, FL 32601
352.872.5556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 483 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice lunchtime spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I eaten here a couple of times and both times it was very good. The flatbread, hummus and soups are especially good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just had a snack....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great place to start out at! Had the Cowboy flat bread and a couple glasses of wine. We had our company Holiday party there back in December and the chef could not have been more accommodating! Hint: they need to invest in a wine fridge - our two glasses of red were at room temp and a bit warm :(

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tasty Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have visited twice and enjoyed both times. The restaurant is very pretty. The bar area is especially nice. The menu has a variey of food options. The service was attentive. I would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Happy Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I had dinner at Vellos on a recent Sat. night. The restaurant was packed but the food and service was still wonderful (and cheerful). My husband, a steak lover, had "The Chairman's Reserve" and ate it with a smile on his face. I had "Herb Roasted Salmon" which came with the most wonderful quinoa pilaf. Both our dishes were cooked perfectly. There were other things on the menu that I want to try too, so this restaurant will get a repeat visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“FLATBREAD - Yummy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have been going to this location over the years an it has changed names a few times but the one consistent thing is that the flat-bread's are WONDERFUL!! We have not had a "meal" there ... however I can tell you that when we were there last I looked around at the plates being served & they looked GREAT!! Lots of food, the steaks are BIG & it looked like they were easy to cut & chew so I'm going to get a meal there next time I am in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vellos Historic Brickstreet Grill also viewed

 

Been to Vellos Historic Brickstreet Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vellos Historic Brickstreet Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.