We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Bakeries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uppercrust

Uppercrust
4116 NW 16th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32605
352-376-7187
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 461 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best of Bakeries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love to linger at Uppercrust just to take in all the smells, cookbooks, and specialty items for sale. Everything I've ever tasted has been delicious. The sugar cookies haven't changed in over 10 years since I ate my first one, and that is a good thing! They melt in your mouth! I adore every flavor of scone, the wholesome demi-baguettes, chewy rosemary rolls, and rich bread pudding. Seriously, the bread pudding at Uppercrust is my standard for all others. It's made with croissants, cream, and butter...the trinity of good French pastries, I would imagine. It is pricey, but it's worth the indulgence here and there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    33
    5
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Try to find better bread anywhere in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Uppercrust is addicting - there is never a time when we don't have something from the bakery in our house. The rosemary bread and white bread are the best I've had anywhere, including Paris, and I travel extensively. The staff is wonderful, the shop is lovely and the food products are what you'd expect in Europe, not little Gainesville, Florida. Don't miss: any of the breads, croissants, sugar cookies, roses, refrigerated dips (white bean mousse in particular), soft pretzels, pre-made sandwiches and last but not least, their amazing soup. Oh, and the Frech press coffee is divine.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent but out of my budget range”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

One top of being on a side of town I seldom visit, this little bakery/restaurant lives up to its name. It might be for the more 'uppercrust' of society because I can only afford to buy a couple items which are always excellent and make me want to beg for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best this side of France!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This bakery is a treat for all senses! Upon entering, one feels as if they have arrived in France! The small, the sights, the taste, oh my! The best, by far, chocolate almond croissant my mouth has EVER met! I'd pay $10 for one! Everything I've had is outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best bread in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the best bread in town day in and day out. I used to buy bread when they were on the second floor of a wooden building on 6th Street so I'm really pleased they are still in Gainesville. Back then Gainesville was still liberal bit soooo "whitebread" with no ethnic breads to be had, not so now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uppercrust also viewed

 

Been to Uppercrust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppercrust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.