We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small zoo, great to take small children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo

Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo
3000 83rd Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
352-395-5601
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 17 Attractions in Gainesville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo houses 70 species, and 250 individual animals in its collection, including white handed gibbons, red ruffed lemurs, ocelots, bald eagles, Galapagos tortoises, African grey parrots, and Matschie’s tree kangaroo. Days Open: Monday - Sunday 9am – 2pm. The Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo is Gainesville’s community zoo and the training facility for the Zoo Animal Technology Program. Situated on 10 forested acres, students in the Zoo Animal Technology Program provide daily care for the animals as well as tours of the zoo grounds. The personalized tours are designed to give visitors a more educational and enjoyable experience and to give zoo students more experience working with guests.
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small zoo, great to take small children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a very little zoo with a good selection of animals. You are able to walk around and really enjoy all of the animals you can usually catch a feed or 2 of the animals. The staff was very nice and willing to answer any questions you may have. Most of the staff are students at the college so this is also a learning experience them. I love taking my daughter here because it is small enough that she doesn't get bored or overwhelmed. The price is great and they also have a playground area for the kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thanks for visiting the Zoo. Don't forget that we host birthday parties where the kids and parents get to enjoy and make lifetime memories with real party animals. We provide a tour of the zoo, animal presentations featuring 4-5 different animals, tables, plates, napkins, cups, and utensils. Please contact us for more information at 352-395-7358.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    28
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“Zoo vs program”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The zoo is very well maintained however if you are interested in working with animals you're better off going to EATM in California or Florida state for wildlife ecology. The animals are very well taken cared of but the academic section is terribly disorganized and poorly ran. It's a waste of money and waste of time. The "teachers" if that's what you want to call them aren't the best educated in exotic animal studies but scooping poo and scrubbing cages they got it down! Support the zoo as a visitor for the care of the animals but as for spending $20,000+ for a worthless degree it's best to avoid this program.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to take children!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Three year old grand daughter loves this little zoo with its surprising variety of animals. Bathrooms are only at the front which is sometimes inconvenient. Students all around give good info.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate your visit to the SF Teaching Zoo. We encourage you to come back and request a hands-on animal encounter at (352) 395-5633.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We really enjoyed this little zoo! The students were friendly and happy to answer questions. I wish the animals cages were a bit bigger but they seemed to have adequate space to roam around. There was a very nice play area for the kids and they had some animals we hadn't seen before (tree kangaroos).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for visiting! The Santa Fe Teaching Zoo is one of 19 zoos in the world that participate in the Tree Kangaroo Species Survival Program. For information about the program, please stop back by the Zoo and we can discuss the program and enclosures of our animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good for what it does”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

You can tell this place's origins. The place is *beautifully* taken care of and the keepers are very friendly and helpful. The animals have an abundance of enrichment items and were active and social. The paths are soft (shredded bark) and very well shaded. It's a small zoo in terms of size and species diversity, but it seems to me it would be perfect for younger kids as a result. The main weakness is what you'd expect from a limited budget: Enclosures are mostly heavy dark wire and are sometimes smaller than one would wish. It's not very photography-friendly as a result. The gibbon family is totally adorable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleH656, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for visiting our Zoo and discussing your concerns. The Santa Fe Teaching Zoo has a diverse and small collection for our 160 students to learn the basic care, management, and introduce them to animal husbandry skills. We encourage you to come back and request an animal encounter and discuss the animal enclosures further. Please contact us at 352-395-5633.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Fe College Teaching Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.