We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BREAKFAST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Biscuit Cafe

The Flying Biscuit Cafe
4150 Northwest 16th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32605
(352) 373-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 472 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I could not believe I would ever be raving about a breakfast restaurant. I had fresh OJ and grits and fried egg with a biscuit but was able to sample other dishes as we were eating in a party of six.
Everything was so delicious that the entire party was swooning. We were in Gainesville for a U of Florida graduation and if it wasnt four hours away, i would drive there for breakfast every day.
I happen to love grits but these grits were different than any I have ever tasted. Every mouthful was consumed with wonder and joy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    11
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast Spot in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I love breakfast places... And Flying Biscuit is the best I have ever been to. Can be tough getting a table at certain times but always worth the effort. Food is outstanding and creative. The atmosphere is great and the staff is always friendly. Definitely recommend hitting it up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outrageous mistreatment of customers!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had heard such great things about this popular brunch spot, that I was truly looking forward to my visit. As I waited to be seated, 2 ladies walked up to the cashier and said: "We had a 2:15 reservation, and you probably remember we got here early. Well it's now after 3, and we still haven't gotten our food. We have to leave."
Instead of apologizing, and asking them to come again and give the restaurant another chance, the cashier asked them to wait and dissapeared. Why do cashiers ask if "everything was OK," if they can't do anything to fix it themselves?
The ladies fidgited for at least three minutes (they had to leave!), until the cashier returned with the manager in tow. The manager said "Your food just came up; would you like it 'to go'?" They asked if they would have to pay for it, and were told "yes." ...after an hour wait?!?! They said "No thanks.Why would we pay to eat cold food out of styrofoam, after waiting an hour to eat it in your dining room?" The manager told the cashier to "just charge them for their beverages," and disapeared, without so much as an apology.
All through this, I am still waiting to be seated in their half empty dining room. I told them not to pay, and asked the cashier to please bring the manager back. She returned, visably annoyed, and I told her that I didn't know the ladies, but was "here for my first visit. After seeing how you treat customers, I am reluctant to eat here. Are you really going to make them pay for their sodas after they waited an hour?" She looked at the two women, and very loudly said "They didn't wait any hour," and when the women pointed out that they had arrived early for a reservation that was over 50 minutes ago, the manager decided to start arguing with them.
At that point the women and I all left. They hadn't been angry; they simply couldn't wait any longer. I am a restaurant general manager, and I was shocked at what I saw. The women clearly waited too long; the exact number of minutes is irrelevant. They weren't unreasonable; they were polite and kept their voices down. All the manager had to do was apologize, offer to send them home with the now ready food at no charge, and she would have earned two very loyal customers. Instead, they got to throw out the ladies food, and even lost me as a customer.
I don't care if the food is worthy of a Michelin star, if you can't treat your customers fairly (and with respect!), I'll spend my money elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flying in and out of the Flying Biscuit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A local bistro favored by many. Small dining room with outdoor seating so it's nice on a nice day for a good dining experience outside. Great variety of high quality food. It is a bit on the pricey side.....upscale. Very good service. Located in a shopping center. Lilly's seamstress/alterations shop next door is VERY GOOD. Lilly and her staff are top notch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A perfect place for brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Variety of options on the menu. The staff are always pleasant. This is a favorite for our family. Quick service and inviting atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flying Biscuit Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Flying Biscuit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Biscuit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.