We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
4001 S.W. 43rd Street, Gainesville, FL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 471 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in Gainesville , Fl , for Memorial Day and we couldn't miss a visit to the local Cracker Barrel , staff was very friendly , food really tasty and the usual country atmosphere . My kids love their grilled cheese sandwich , and we had fish : haddock and trout , both good with plenty of side dishes . That is a perfect combination of simple food , done right at a fair price .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfort food at economical prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good service, and homey setting. A constant "buzz" from all the people talking.Mashed potatoes and mixed greens good.Don't order the green beans as a side- more like greyish mush.My husband bought his favourite gift in the store here- a back scratcher in the shape of a bear claw!! (Pretty tacky looking but apparently it works great.)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great grilled chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I loved the grilled chicken tenderloins and mashed potatoes, my daughter liked the sweet potato fries and also the lovely store attached to it

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never met a Cracker Barrel I didn't like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Planned mediocrity. But we have never been disappointed by the food, the service which is friendly, the variety of choices, the shopping in the gift store. And if you have to wait, those rockers are wonderful. We stop at a Cracker Barrel every trip we take and sometime several times. Can't go wrong ordering their specials. Always plenty of food, the drinks are kept refilled and the biscuits are warm.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Okay for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is not authentic Southern food, folks. Anyone who thinks it is has never had real Southern food. THey do a decent job at consistency, but this is cookie cutter operation with a lot of frozen foods as re-heats.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.