We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ! Great bagels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bagel Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bagel Bakery
Gainesville, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 466 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Bagels
Restaurant details
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wow ! Great bagels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stopped here for lunch. Got the lunch deal with chips and a drink. The bagel sandwich with turkey and bacon was terrific. Your choice of toppings and condiments. The bagel was crispy on the outside and chewy inside. Just right!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“THE BEST BAGLE BAKERY EVER.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The best BAGLE bakery in Gainesville. All bagels are made on site and superb. You are truly blessed if you are lucky enough to arrive and order when they have a fresh batch of bagels.
I love going their for lunch also. One of my faves in town. I will continue to dine here for years to come.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quality NY bagels, fair prices & friendly, helpfull staff. It's a WINNER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I've suffered so many of this places competitors over the years: bready bagels, in-authentic toppings, pre-made or bought-in fillings, and either poor service or poor quality. NOT HERE!
The bagels are good, chewy, boiled-and-then-baked NY water bagels, and the large salt crystals on the salt bagels are like you'd find on a pretzel (instead of the sand you get at "Unlimited" places. And the flavored cream cheeses are house-made and topped with FRESH produce. My friends always enjoy the wraps, and no request is too much trouble for the friendly staff. My only criticism, is that the soups (which are part of an otherwise great value soup, sandwich & beverage combo), can be a bit bland or "tinny." Now if they'd only stay open for supper...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coffee and bagel once a week or more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been going to this locally owned, fairtrade minded coffee and bagel shop for years - a decade or more. Through that time, the owner has stayed true to his mission of doing business directly with Guatemalan coffee farmers. I can tell the differencebetween this organic coffee and other brands. We only buy coffee from this place. We get the beans and then grind and brew them ourselves at home. When I drink other brands of coffee, I sometimes get a tingly tongue or other suspicious reactions. But those reactions neve happen when I have Bagel Bakery coffee. I enjoy the bagels, too. It's tough to give a specific review since I have been eating here at least once a week for at least a decade - everthing is good. My personal favorites are the honey walnut cream cheese on a cinnamon raison bagel, the spinach artichoke cream cheese on the the hummus, and the fresh orange juice with just about anything. It is on the way to work, so sometimes I just stop in for a large coffee and it is faster than going to a starbucks or gastation (and tastes better than both). We sometimes buy a dozen bagels and freeze them and take them out "as needed" to make breakfast/brunch

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The bagels are always fresh. The service is fast and coffe is delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bagel Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Bagel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bagel Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.