We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but worth it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Civilization

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Civilization
1511 NW 2nd St, Gainesville, FL 32601-2229
352-380-0544
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 462 restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Wonderful place.
Lima
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Out of the way but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I dined there with family, all adults. It was a little hectic as we were there during graduations but getting there at opening paid off. Had the Gumbo and was good. Wine selection could be better. The wines all seemed to come with screw caps which was odd at $35 a bottle but good. Make sure to check the vintage as they do not update the wine list. Dessert (crumble) was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    41
    19
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious, whether vegan, vegetarian or carnivore.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Once we discovered this hidden away restaurant in Gainesville we went again less than a week later. Several nice vegan options.

For my full review, with pictures, go to my blog at: http://vegouttoeat.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/civilization-gainesville-florida/

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“E.njoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We were in Gainesville overnight and looking for good dinner. Found Civilization on Trip Advisor. And decided to have an early dinner. Since it was Friday night we went at 5:30 and were seated immediately (the restaurant did start to fill up around 6). The server explained the specials and recommended a wine. We ordered an appetizer ("the Greek thing with an unpronounceable name") which was a feta-based spread served with pita. I ordered fettuccine alla vongole and my husband had shrimp. All the food was very good. My only quibble was with the pace of the service. We ordered and the server brought bread and butter. Before we had a chance to butter any bread the appetizer arrived.... Well, ok. We had time to taste the appetizer, then the entrees arrived. Very rushed. I would have like to enjoy a glass of wine and the appetizer before moving on to the main course. The food was very good, well-seasoned and well-prepared. We would have liked a little more time to enjoy it. Server never offered a second glass of wine...we felt as if they wanted us to eat and go!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Organic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Understated decor, pleasant people, and delicious food! I highly recommend the portobello stroganoff and Floida citrus salad. Do not expect to dine in a hurry, but the experience is well worth it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG... I wish I could eat here everyday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you want a fresh take on dining, and I mean organic and healthy, you must go to Civilization. My hubby and I were in Gainesville for the weekend and literally stumbled upon this unique eatery. It was nice to find a place that caters to those trying to live a healthy lifestyle. If I had a choice, I would surely eat there EVERYDAY!!! The staff is great, especially Mitch, and so is everything on the menu. If you don't try Civilization when you are in Gainesville, then you are missing out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civilization also viewed

 

Been to Civilization? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civilization, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.