We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mancation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gainesville Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gainesville Lodge to your Saves list
Gainesville Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gainesville Lodge
413 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
1 review
“Mancation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best place to stay if your on a Mancation. Just wanted a cheap hotel within walking distance to Gator Game, bars and restaurants. That exactly what we got. It is a dump, but we knew what we were getting because we stayed here last year against the wives' wishes. Go Gators!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, CT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I should have known that you get what you pay for - the owner's husband was a bit scary looking, lurking behind the door when his wife checked me in. The room was just okay, but it was very convenient, my daughter lives in the graduate apt complex right next door. I did change rooms the first night from a shower stall that was dark and very small, to a room with a tub and shower. Quiet enough - but BED BUGS! Didn't get the bites til the second night, which was odd, but don't stay here - you won't get any satisfaction from the owners! Creepy! Only other redeeming quality was that the maid was very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Fl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We needed a room for a seminar in Gainesville, and this being the home of the University of Florida most rooms are over $100/night. I was a little concerned getting a room for $60, but I went to TA and notice that the reviews were good and consistent. We were not disappointed, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were helpful. We did notice that they were doing some upgrading in the halls and some of the rooms. VERY affordable and it is not a "cheap hotel".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I knew Gainesville Lodge was the "cheapest" place for me to stay at so I didn't expect any frills. My room was clean ... the bed was clean and very comfortable so my expectations were exceeded. I had read reviews complaining of smell, roaches, etc.
My room (#105) had no smell ... saw no bugs ... checked the matress for bed bugs, found none ... pillows comfortable. I only wanted a quick overnight stay as I teach at University of Florida and live in St. Augustine and didn't have time to get home so I chose this location and was happy for the value received for my money.
DrSign

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gainesville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainesville Lodge

Address: 413 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gainesville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainesville Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.