We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mancation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gainesville Lodge

Gainesville Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gainesville Lodge to your Saves list
Gainesville Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   413 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mancation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Best place to stay if your on a Mancation. Just wanted a cheap hotel within walking distance to Gator Game, bars and restaurants. That exactly what we got. It is a dump, but we knew what we were getting because we stayed here last year against the wives' wishes. Go Gators!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I should have known that you get what you pay for - the owner's husband was a bit scary looking, lurking behind the door when his wife checked me in. The room was just okay, but it was very convenient, my daughter lives in the graduate apt complex right next door. I did change rooms the first night from a shower stall that was dark and very small, to a room with a tub and shower. Quiet enough - but BED BUGS! Didn't get the bites til the second night, which was odd, but don't stay here - you won't get any satisfaction from the owners! Creepy! Only other redeeming quality was that the maid was very friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Fl
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We needed a room for a seminar in Gainesville, and this being the home of the University of Florida most rooms are over $100/night. I was a little concerned getting a room for $60, but I went to TA and notice that the reviews were good and consistent. We were not disappointed, the room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were helpful. We did notice that they were doing some upgrading in the halls and some of the rooms. VERY affordable and it is not a "cheap hotel".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I knew Gainesville Lodge was the "cheapest" place for me to stay at so I didn't expect any frills. My room was clean ... the bed was clean and very comfortable so my expectations were exceeded. I had read reviews complaining of smell, roaches, etc.
My room (#105) had no smell ... saw no bugs ... checked the matress for bed bugs, found none ... pillows comfortable. I only wanted a quick overnight stay as I teach at University of Florida and live in St. Augustine and didn't have time to get home so I chose this location and was happy for the value received for my money.
DrSign

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.0 mi away
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites
#12 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Gainesville
The Lodge at Gainesville
#10 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gainesville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainesville Lodge

Address: 413 W University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gainesville Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gainesville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainesville Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.