We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just magical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Rainforest

Butterfly Rainforest
SW 34th St. and Hull Road, Florida Museum of Natural History, Gainesville, FL 32611-2710
352 846-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Gainesville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just magical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spend time looking at the samples on the walls and watch Professors and students working in labs before actually going into the enclosure. Use your AAA discount if you have one. Once you enter, so many beautiful butterflies are flying around that it's hard to see them all. Have a seat and there is a chance that they will actually land on you. It's easy to spend at least an hour in there just looking and taking pictures. If you have any questions, the people there are very knowledgeable and look forward to helping you out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    58
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Butterflies up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

If you like butterflies, this is the place to visit. So many different ones and excellent opportunity to take close up pictures.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Belize
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Butterfly Garden..Largest Butterfly Collection in the World....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I never get tired of visiting here. In my travels and work in Central America, I come across Butterfly Gardens...but the one at UF has tainted me from wanting to see any other gardens.It is a treat for all ages. I think it is best to go in the spring and fall when it is not so hot. It is a photographers dream, and a great place to take family or children's photos. Combine the day with a picnic and a trip over to the Museum of Natural History next door, and you have a full day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax and Awe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very beautiful, relaxing, educational and a "happy" place for all! Foilage is gorgeous, water features are lovely, places to sit and relax and watch, butterfly release is a must see, docents do a fabulous job explaining habitat and types of butterflies. We have taken our children, our elderly mother, my sister and brother-in-law from Texas - EVERYONE just thoroughly enjoys this venue! Highly recommended in visiting Gainesville - right on campus and also adjacent to museum (which is another must) Don't miss it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quite wondrous. Magical. A real treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a real treat that people of all ages and types will just love. It is exciting and beautiful and natural and very inspiring.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfly Rainforest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Rainforest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.