We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Italian Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fresco - CLOSED

Fresco
3117 SW 34th St, Gainesville, FL 32608-1724
352-377-3484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: Fresco Neighborhood Italian has been chosen by the Gainesville Sun as the best Italian restaurant in Gainesville. Enjoy casual, upscale dining at a price you can afford!
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Average Italian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We usually pick independent, locally owned restaurants over chains when given the option. Have been here twice for dinner and have been slightly disappointed both times. Service has been satisfactory, however, the food was just average. Price is a little high for the quality of the food. The garlic bread was the best part of the meal, and the wine was well priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cute Italian Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant for dinner on Wednesday early evening and it was nice and quite. Kind of a little tricky to find but nothing that a phone call doesn't to solve. It has a small outdoor seating area, the interior is very cute with regular tables and high top tables. Waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was ok... lets put this way, they have dishes with names similar to Carraba'sbut it doesn't get close to Carrabas taste. I ordered Chicken Marsalla and although the portion was generous, the chicken was not grilled. It tasted like the chicken was cooked in the Marsala sauce which, by the way was a red sauce with a sweet taste. The same happened to my hubby, who ordered Chicken with Lemon Sauce (similar to Chicken Piccata) . Again, chicken tasted like it was cooked in the sauce, not grilled and it was very buttery. It is fair to say that every restaurant has their own recipe. We personally didn't like our main dishes, but it doesn't mean you won't. The main dishes came with a side of pasta (regular sauce) and tossed fresh salad. We also ordered the bruschetta and it was delicious, nicely served in a star format with crispy toasted garlic bread, with fresh tomato/basil in the center. We spent $60 for a couple with small child... a little pricey since we didn't ordered wine.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“A little, hidden Italian gem of a place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a bistro-type spot - regular tables, high-top tables and outdoor seating.

The wine list is on the wine bottle label on each table, and is quite a nice list.

We particularly like the "build your own pasta." You may add the ingredients you like and it comes to your table hot, and emitting a wonderful aroma. The salads are very good with very generous portions.

Their bread is too garlicky for some but you can ask for it plain toasted and it is still delicious.

Go 'round the traffic circle and you'll find Fresco next to Peach Valley Cafe, near Carrabba's. It's worth the trip.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Fresco, I have been there twice now (for Lunch) and have been very satisfied with the food as well as the service. Fresco has a nice outdoor patio area as well where your dog is welcome too.
Good food, fresh made ingredients, nice atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cozy Place with fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Used a Groupon to check this place out. Whole wheat pasta and meatballs were great. Good wine. Lighting is nice. Not like a chain place. Hard to find off 34th Street but worth a visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.