We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #2 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
ocala, United States
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and we really enjoyed the breakfast. There are some nice places to eat near the hotel and it is close to the university. If I'm in Gainesville again, I'll stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed the hotel and some of the great downtown restaurants. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    83
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
97
45
14
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many Hampton Inns. They are clean, comfortable and priced fairly. I almost did not book at the Downtown Hampton because it cost almost twice what I paid to stay at a Hampton The week before. I am glad I did book the room. The hotel is really nice. I will be back. Very impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review on your recent stay with us. I'm so glad that you decided to choose our property. We feel that we have the perfect location along with an awesome staff to provide excellent customer service. We're glad you were impressed and delighted to hear that you will be back! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arrived in pouring rain, to a most comfortable hotel. Everything about it was very nice. It's so nice to come to a pleasant , clean and welcoming hotel after a long day on the road. Usually we find Hampton to be this way. Once in a great while when they've changed ownership, we're disappointed. This met our highest expectation. The a/c didn't work in our room and so the desk clerk volunteered to put us in a working room. So much better. The desk clerk in the a.m. caught us as we were leaving to tell us that we had a phone message. Very personable staff. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to review our hotel. I do apologize that you had problems with the air conditioning, but I'm glad we were able to move you to another room. I'm so glad that the hotel and staff met your expectations. Thanks again and we hope you'll come back and visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked at the last minute and we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a great location, with very nice accomodations, and a great breakfast was included. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We're glad you were able to find us at the last minute. Thanks so much for posting a review. We're glad you enjoyed all the great things our hotel has to offer. We hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very clean, very quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable. Free breakfast is a plus! The location is very convenient and close to lots of restaurants and a Starbucks. I stay at this hotel frequently and would recommend it to anyone who wants a great quality hotel at a fair price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are delighted to hear that we are your first choice in accommodations when you're in town. Thanks so much for recommending our property to other travelers. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a three day training. The rooms were very clean. The rooms were very spacious. The customer service was awesome. They have a manager's happy hour in the lobby for all guests. I did not learn of this until the last day. Needless to say I was a little upset. Be forewarned there are numerous vagrants in and around this area

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks so much for writing a review on your recent stay with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll visit us again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Always a pleasent stay at a hampton Inn. I travel often and i alway look for a hampton inn to stay at. I have never had a bad stay or any issues at a Hampton Inn. I would recomend it to everyone. They are always in a great location and the value is tops. If you havent stayed at a Hampton In you dont know what you are missing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the great shout out to Hampton Inn's everywhere! We're glad you enjoy all the great things that Hampton has to offer. We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.