We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
“Big Help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After accidentally booking a room for the day before, the front desk made sure to get me a room for the night and at the same rate....Then offered me a beer and snacks that are complimentary in the lobby in the evenings. The next morning the GM fixed the no show charge on my credit card from the night before and thanked me for my business. The staff here is great, and the location is awesome. There are some great places to eat less then 1 block....and a nice place to smoke a cigar in a shop right downstairs. Best place to stay in Gainesville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent visit to our hotel. I'm glad we were able to assist you with the reservation issue. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. We really appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    91
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
111
49
16
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cooper city, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful downtown location away from the Archer Road traffic and close to campus and quality restaurants. Near historic area, shops and cultural activities. Safe for a stroll. There is charge for using the parking garage but its minimal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed all the wonderful benefits of being in the downtown area. We hope the next time your travels bring you to this area that you'll choose to stay with us. We value your business and look forward to seeing you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral gables, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a quick family trip into Gainesville and the hotel was extremely accomodating and clean. All staff members were pleasant and helpful. It was a nice experience all around. This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Gainesville with restaurants within walking distance. Parking is available nearby as well which is all city owned but hotel has accomodations with the nearby city garage to cover cost under your hotel bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to Gainesville and the downtown area. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel - I stay at the Hampton Inn a lot for business travel - it's where most of our company tends to put their money as well. On a recent personal trip, however, it was a Customer Service nightmare that still hasn't been resolved. First, the parking arrangement is good ONLY if it works. The room keys did not open the garage to get in (which I was told prior may be the case, due to "issues" with the electronics of the card). The lot attendant gave me a parking ticket to get in. Upon check-out at 7:30a the next morning at a very cool and rainy 52 degrees, I gave the front desk my ticket to get "stamped" so I could exit the garage. There was no lot attendant available to open the gate since (surprise) the room key didn't work, and I didn't have my ticket to put in the slot, my only alternative was to pay a lost ticket price of $20 (!) to get the heck out of the garage. The hotel also charged me $6. I called the hotel on Sunday to see what they could help me with but there are routinely NO Managers on duty (apparently never) during the weekend at this hotel (and they could use one). So, no-one had the "authority" to help me or reverse charges. I was directed to call the "garage people" to handle the hotel's parking debacle. Unbelievable. When the front desk says "there's nothing we can do about it" you know you're in trouble. Then, asking the customer to call a garage without even supplying a name or number. I called back a week later- on a Friday - and guess what, no Manager to talk to, but a voice mail. Here we are 2 weeks later and no return call. I asked why there isn't a Manager on duty during the weekend (in Gainesville, a fun and rowdy college town where many come in to see sports, their kids, etc) and I was told that they (I guess the front desk employees) could "handle" everything. But, I'm going to challenge that assumption. I've never written anything negative in all my travels, but this experience irked me beyond me keeping quiet. In the end, I paid $26 for a parking spot from 6p-7:30a. Good work, HI :(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I sincerely apologize for the issues you had with the parking garage on your recent visit to Gainesville. We don't stamp tickets for the garage, we actually have a call box at the exit which dials the hotel directly and the front desk can lift the gate. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience and if you'll contact me directly at the hotel, I'll be happy to help make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel was spotless, staff totally on the ball and overall a really great experience in Gainesville for a recent work stop. Front desk staff, including 2 young ladies (can't recall names) and a gentleman names 'Josh' all helped make my life a lot easier. Sounds like a cliche, but was so true. Also, all the hallways, common areas were always spotless. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Craig,
We really appreciate you posting a review about your recent stay. Our staff works extremely hard to deliver outstanding service to all our guests. We're glad you had a great experience and appreciate you mentioning the team members who were especially helpful during your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with all our team members. Thanks again, and we hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the nicest Hampton Inn's I've ever stayed in! The location is perfect - easy walking distance to many of the best restaurants and bars in Gainesville. I will definitely book here again for future trips!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful restaurants Downtown has to offer. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Gainesville! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the years and this was probably the friendliest, cleanest, considerate, over the top service I have ever experienced The staff employed at this hotel from the front desk clerk, the cleaning service, to the breakfast staff are amazing. Whoever is managing this hotel definitely has my congratulations, because they are doing a super job. We stayed for my sons graduation and would not have changed a thing. The staff at this hotel helped to make our special celebration even more perfect. Also, to add the location of this hotel is in walking distance to wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful visit for your sons graduation! We really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review about your stay with us. We're so happy that we were able to be a part of your special celebration. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.