We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work trip made so much easier by hotel staff....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Work trip made so much easier by hotel staff....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hotel was spotless, staff totally on the ball and overall a really great experience in Gainesville for a recent work stop. Front desk staff, including 2 young ladies (can't recall names) and a gentleman names 'Josh' all helped make my life a lot easier. Sounds like a cliche, but was so true. Also, all the hallways, common areas were always spotless. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Craig,
We really appreciate you posting a review about your recent stay. Our staff works extremely hard to deliver outstanding service to all our guests. We're glad you had a great experience and appreciate you mentioning the team members who were especially helpful during your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with all our team members. Thanks again, and we hope to see you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    119
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
148
62
19
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of the nicest Hampton Inn's I've ever stayed in! The location is perfect - easy walking distance to many of the best restaurants and bars in Gainesville. I will definitely book here again for future trips!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hey Amanda,
Thanks so much for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and all the wonderful restaurants Downtown has to offer. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Gainesville! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the years and this was probably the friendliest, cleanest, considerate, over the top service I have ever experienced The staff employed at this hotel from the front desk clerk, the cleaning service, to the breakfast staff are amazing. Whoever is managing this hotel definitely has my congratulations, because they are doing a super job. We stayed for my sons graduation and would not have changed a thing. The staff at this hotel helped to make our special celebration even more perfect. Also, to add the location of this hotel is in walking distance to wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful visit for your sons graduation! We really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review about your stay with us. We're so happy that we were able to be a part of your special celebration. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall, this is an excellent hotel with some of the friendliest staff we have encountered: desk staff, housekeeping, maintenance: all very friendly and said hello as if they mean it! We stayed here when we met friends from out of town. The hotel is very convenient to downtown restaurants, the campus etc. The hotel staff was friendly and informative when we checked in and the associate gave us a "snack bag" when we checked out--a really nice touch.

There was a happy hour of light snacks and wine or beer which we very much enjoyed as well as a very nice breakfast. The only criticism of breakfast is that the eggs were REALLY salty and kind of dried out however, there were several other choices of things to eat and you could get a "to go" breakfast bag if you wanted it. The breakfast chairs and tables were very nice and comfortable.

The room we selected was a king suite and it was a nice size. THe bed was very comfortable and the bedding was very nice. THe bathroom was small, but nicely done with tile. I did notice some dust on the baseboard of the tile---no big deal . Other than that it was very clean.

THere was a refrigerator and microwave in the room--both of which worked and were very clean, The room had a very spacious desk and a very nice flat screen tv that swiveled so it could be viewed from the couch or bed or desk.

The room was very clean except the sofa looked a bit tired. Again, no big deal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the King suite and to us it was worth it. We also asked for a room on a higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you posting a great review about your recent stay with us. Our team takes great pride in making our guests feel at home while they're here. I'm glad you took advantage of our evening social and the complimentary breakfast. We hope you will visit us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I travel a lot for business and miss my own bed a lot. The bedding at the Hampton Inn was clean, fresh and very luxurious, especially for the price range of the hotel. It rivaled bedding at places that charge 2-3 times more per night. The staff was also extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Deborah K.
We really appreciate you letting us know about your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed the wonderful Hampton bedding. It's great to hear that the staff was helpful and friendly during your visit. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had to stay overnight for a final at the University of Florida and fell in luck by booking this hotel. Breakfast was great, rooms were superb and clean. Very comfortable and centralized in the downtown area. Bars and Lounges around for a quick drink or late dinner (even on a MOnday night). Chris, the front desk was extremely helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Juan D,
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy that you chose our hotel and that you enjoyed our great location. I'm so glad that Chris was of great help to you during your stay. We hope you will visit us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I came to visit my daughter at uf and this was a perfect location. There are restaurants outside the hotel so its very convenient. I loved the dragonfly sushi across the street. The rooms here were clean and the bathroom was perfect size. I loved how there were 3 large mirrors in the room and we had a king room so we had a sofa too. Just make sure to close the curtains or you will be up at the crack of dawn. ( unless you want to). Parking is hard to find on the street so there is a garage to park. It will cost you $6/day. Frankly the hotel should cover it since i was already paying $200/night. But enjoyed the stay. They do have a complimentary breakfast until 10. We missed it but heard it was good. It was on the 2nd floor

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. So glad that you enjoyed visiting with your daughter and dining at Dragonfly. It's hands down the best sushi in Gainesville! We're sorry that you missed breakfast, but hopefully you can experience that on your next visit. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#1 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#5 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Gainesville
The Lodge at Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.