We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #1 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel for a weekend visit. Lots of restaurants around but homeless hang out across the street. Coffee and free breakfast was not so good, but we got there late and for free you really cannot complain. Room was very big and clean. Good price for visiting college student. Front desk very nice and helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
74
39
13
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for one night to tour the college. There were no surprises good or bad. The hotel was exactly what I expected it to be - easy, convenient and within walking distance of a few restaurants downtown. You can park either on the street for free or in the parking garage next door (you get a reduced rate). You need a car to see the school because it is not within walking distance of the campus. It is in downtown Gainesville. There is a Hilton that is more convenient to the campus and I would probably choose to stay at the Hilton next time just to be a little closer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful restaurants downtown Gainesville has to offer. We hope that your visit to the University was a successful one and we hope to see you again real soon.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel's location is in the heart of old downtown within a short stroll of many restaurants and bars. Although in downtown the traffic is very light so there is no noise problems and the parking is located next door to the hotel, which is very convenient.

Our room was clean and smelled fresh. The staff are very accommodating and friendly.

The hotel had a drinks and nibbles reception on the evening we were there which is a nice touch.

Gainesville downtown area came as a pleasant surprise, and we had a fabulous meal at Mark's Prime Steakhouse - on 2nd Ave, about 50 yards from the hotel.

We would stay here again if we were in the area

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our property, We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and the great restaurants that downtown has to offer. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Gainesville. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel's location means you can park the car and walk! We opted to park on the street which is free from 6:00 pm until 8:00 am. We arrived late in the day, and wished we'd had time to visit the farmer's market in the park across the street but it was closing up. The hotel is very nice and the staff was welcoming. We were provided a map of the area indicating restaurants that extend a 10-15% discount when you show your room card! The room was clean and comfortable, bath toiletries are provided and wi-fi service is free. It was very chilly in Gainesville and the heat worked well! The breakfast was fine - standard fare. The evening reception was a nice touch - beer and wine served from 5 pm to 7 pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. Maybe next time you can check out the Farmers Market, as they have some wonderful fresh produce and lots of other unique items to browse. We’re glad you enjoyed our evening social and took advantage of the discounts offered at several of the local restaurants. There are so many great restaurants in the surrounding area. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you’re in the Gainesville area.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room and hotel was nice and clean and everything is well maintained. When we arrived, we noticed a quaint little outdoor park with what appeared to be an amphitheater. We wondered what kind of fun things the locals do there. After dark, it didn't look so fun. The parking garage is about 100 yards from the hotel, and we were a little nervous on that walk. To be fair, we didn't feel threatened. Just nervous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel on trip advisor. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Downtown Gaiinesville has lots of events throughout the year on the Bo Diddley Plaza. If you visit again between April and November there are free concerts every Friday night. Downtown Gainesville is also home to nationally recognized art festivals, The Downtown Festival and Art Show has been one of the top 30 art shows in the nation over the past 6 years.

Thanks again for taking time to write a review of our hotel and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley,CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Love this location - right out your door are lots of great restaurants (esp Jones on 2nd - all local, organic, and very yummy food), the historic district which has a nice walking tour, and several artist collectives and studios. Also Starbucks is a short block away. Room and lobby were nice, oh and there's a large salt water swim spa out back.

Room Tip: *** If you stay on a weekend, best not to get a room right on the main street as it can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed all the wonderful sights, sounds and good eats Downtown Gainesville has to offer. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has a great downtown location. I didn't mind paying to park, as it gave you gauranteed parking with in and out garage access. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating to us. The breakfast is your basic Hampton breakfast. It was VERY busy since it was a Gator football weekend. The happy hour was nice too: beer,wine, and snacks. It is walking distance to campus if you don't mind walking, maybe a 1 mile? You could also walk to the stadium, not much further. If you hate walking and consider 1 mile a long walk, you probably want to take the shuttle they provide. It was worth the money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you were able to stay with us over a Gator Football weekend. We love having Gator fans anytime of the year, but especially during football season. We hope you will be able to join us again next football season and of course, anytime you visit Gainesville. We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.