We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms but the area seems scary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good rooms but the area seems scary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The room and hotel was nice and clean and everything is well maintained. When we arrived, we noticed a quaint little outdoor park with what appeared to be an amphitheater. We wondered what kind of fun things the locals do there. After dark, it didn't look so fun. The parking garage is about 100 yards from the hotel, and we were a little nervous on that walk. To be fair, we didn't feel threatened. Just nervous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing our hotel on trip advisor. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Downtown Gaiinesville has lots of events throughout the year on the Bo Diddley Plaza. If you visit again between April and November there are free concerts every Friday night. Downtown Gainesville is also home to nationally recognized art festivals, The Downtown Festival and Art Show has been one of the top 30 art shows in the nation over the past 6 years.

Thanks again for taking time to write a review of our hotel and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    87
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
102
46
15
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley,CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Love this location - right out your door are lots of great restaurants (esp Jones on 2nd - all local, organic, and very yummy food), the historic district which has a nice walking tour, and several artist collectives and studios. Also Starbucks is a short block away. Room and lobby were nice, oh and there's a large salt water swim spa out back.

Room Tip: *** If you stay on a weekend, best not to get a room right on the main street as it can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed all the wonderful sights, sounds and good eats Downtown Gainesville has to offer. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel has a great downtown location. I didn't mind paying to park, as it gave you gauranteed parking with in and out garage access. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating to us. The breakfast is your basic Hampton breakfast. It was VERY busy since it was a Gator football weekend. The happy hour was nice too: beer,wine, and snacks. It is walking distance to campus if you don't mind walking, maybe a 1 mile? You could also walk to the stadium, not much further. If you hate walking and consider 1 mile a long walk, you probably want to take the shuttle they provide. It was worth the money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you were able to stay with us over a Gator Football weekend. We love having Gator fans anytime of the year, but especially during football season. We hope you will be able to join us again next football season and of course, anytime you visit Gainesville. We Love Having You Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our daughter is a freshman at the University of Florida and we have stayed twice at the Downtown Gainesville Hampton Inn since she enrolled in August. We love the luxurious comfort of the rooms and the spaciousness of the suite with the little kitchenette. Our 16 year old son travels to Gainesville with us so we really appreciate the availability of the sofa bed in the rooms. The breakfast buffet is perfect with the wide variety of healthy and popular choices. My daughter and I love to step out the front door of the Downtown Gainesville Hampton and onto busy, vibrant streets full of awesome restaurants and cafes, boutiques and art galleries, the Hippodrome State Theatre and the Bo Diddley Community Plaza. The staff is extra friendly and very competent. I consider the Downtown Gainesville Hampton Inn our home away from home when we are in Gainesville!

Room Tip: The suite with the little kitchenette is very spacious and a perfect choice for a family. In additi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a great review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed being in one of our best Studio Suites. There are many wonderful restaurants and shops that are just steps away from our hotel. Hopefully, you'll visit enough over the next few years to experience all that downtown has to offer. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon. We love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a very attractive Hampton Inn and Suites in decor and architecture. It is withing walking distance of many restaurants and is just off the University of FL campus. A typical Hampton style breakfast was provided, as well as all other amenities. However I was upset about the high price charged for this particular Hampton Inn in comparison to others where I have stayed. Due to the fact it is in limited downtown space, you must park in a parking deck approx. a block away and it t was 8pm and dark when I arrived. I am a retired female and I didn't feel safe walking 1/2 block on a narrow sidewalk between a building and the parking deck to get to the front entry of the hotel. It was a real security issue for me so beware if you are traveling alone. It was not a covered walkway so the rain wasn't very comfortable either. Also the parking fee of $6 was added to your bill. I have stayed in many Hampton Inns and have never had a security issue like this. When you are unfamiliar with a new town, you should take all precautions

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. As you stated, our decor and architecture are not what you've come to expect from a typical Hampton property. We believe our location and property is the finest Gainesville has to offer. Should you visit us again I just wanted to let you know that we do provide shuttle service to and from the parking garage. Just let the front desk know and they will make sure you are well taken care of. Unfortunately we do not own the parking garage so there is a minimal charge for parking. Most downtown hotels charge anywhere from $12 to $40 a night for parking.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you will visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were upgraded to a queen suite without asking. Room 425 was large clean and quiet. Beer and snack in lobby at check in. Breakfast had plenty of options to choose in the ample dinning area with large tv. Great hotel option for Gainesville. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We really appreciate you taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and our evening managers reception. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No problems at all with this particular Hampton Inn. Friendly staff, clean and quiet room, great location for walking around downtown. Bonus! Beer & snacks in lobby around 5:30.
When we stayed there was also a farmers market in the park about a block away, nice to walk around and try samples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you took advantage of our evening reception and took time to check our our wonderful farmers market. We hope you'll stay with us on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.