We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locatin in Downtown Gainesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great locatin in Downtown Gainesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was a very attractive Hampton Inn and Suites in decor and architecture. It is withing walking distance of many restaurants and is just off the University of FL campus. A typical Hampton style breakfast was provided, as well as all other amenities. However I was upset about the high price charged for this particular Hampton Inn in comparison to others where I have stayed. Due to the fact it is in limited downtown space, you must park in a parking deck approx. a block away and it t was 8pm and dark when I arrived. I am a retired female and I didn't feel safe walking 1/2 block on a narrow sidewalk between a building and the parking deck to get to the front entry of the hotel. It was a real security issue for me so beware if you are traveling alone. It was not a covered walkway so the rain wasn't very comfortable either. Also the parking fee of $6 was added to your bill. I have stayed in many Hampton Inns and have never had a security issue like this. When you are unfamiliar with a new town, you should take all precautions

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. As you stated, our decor and architecture are not what you've come to expect from a typical Hampton property. We believe our location and property is the finest Gainesville has to offer. Should you visit us again I just wanted to let you know that we do provide shuttle service to and from the parking garage. Just let the front desk know and they will make sure you are well taken care of. Unfortunately we do not own the parking garage so there is a minimal charge for parking. Most downtown hotels charge anywhere from $12 to $40 a night for parking.

Thanks again for the review and we hope you will visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    91
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
111
49
16
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were upgraded to a queen suite without asking. Room 425 was large clean and quiet. Beer and snack in lobby at check in. Breakfast had plenty of options to choose in the ample dinning area with large tv. Great hotel option for Gainesville. I will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We really appreciate you taking time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and our evening managers reception. We hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No problems at all with this particular Hampton Inn. Friendly staff, clean and quiet room, great location for walking around downtown. Bonus! Beer & snacks in lobby around 5:30.
When we stayed there was also a farmers market in the park about a block away, nice to walk around and try samples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you took advantage of our evening reception and took time to check our our wonderful farmers market. We hope you'll stay with us on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn a few times while in Gainesville. Unlike many Hiltons the lobby and rooms are modern and it is always clean. Beds are good but not great in terms of comfort. The real positive is the location, walking distance to downtown and fun restaurants. All for an affordable price. I will definitely continue to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you've discovered that we have the best location in all of Gainesville. There are many wonderful restaurants in downtown Gainesville and our front desk staff is more than happy to give our guests recommendations. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a basic, nice Hampton in a great location. You can walk to a bunch of cool restaurants right out the front door. The room was pretty quiet so I had a good night's sleep but the hotel was not too full that night. I would stay here again if back in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of our property. We hope you will visit Gainesville again soon. We look forward to having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this downtown hotel, and it's very centrally located. We walked to many wonderful restaurants. The staff were wonderful! Only negative is there was a street fair Friday night and we could not get our car near the hotl. We had to park blocks away...not sure how often that occurrs.

Room Tip: If the street fair is occurring, try to avoid rooms that are on the east side facing the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to all the wonderful restaurants Downtown Gainesville has to offer. We hope you will stay us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I couldn't be more happier with this hotel. At the time of arrival, we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The reception desk has a very sunny personality, and couldn't have been more helpful. In fact, all of the folks working in this hotel, from breakfast to housekeeping, were friendly and efficient. The rooms in this hotel are perfectly "Hampton" with their comfy beds with bright white duvets and extra amenities like in-room coffee and complimentary WiFi. And, most importantly, our room was immaculately clean. This was by far the best and most convenient in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We believe we have the best staff in Gainesville too. We appreciate your business and hope you'll visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.