We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, quiet, good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save!
Ranked #2 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, quiet, good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

No problems at all with this particular Hampton Inn. Friendly staff, clean and quiet room, great location for walking around downtown. Bonus! Beer & snacks in lobby around 5:30.
When we stayed there was also a farmers market in the park about a block away, nice to walk around and try samples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you took advantage of our evening reception and took time to check our our wonderful farmers market. We hope you'll stay with us on your next visit to Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    83
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
96
45
14
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed at this Hampton Inn a few times while in Gainesville. Unlike many Hiltons the lobby and rooms are modern and it is always clean. Beds are good but not great in terms of comfort. The real positive is the location, walking distance to downtown and fun restaurants. All for an affordable price. I will definitely continue to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you've discovered that we have the best location in all of Gainesville. There are many wonderful restaurants in downtown Gainesville and our front desk staff is more than happy to give our guests recommendations. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a basic, nice Hampton in a great location. You can walk to a bunch of cool restaurants right out the front door. The room was pretty quiet so I had a good night's sleep but the hotel was not too full that night. I would stay here again if back in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what you thought of our property. We hope you will visit Gainesville again soon. We look forward to having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this downtown hotel, and it's very centrally located. We walked to many wonderful restaurants. The staff were wonderful! Only negative is there was a street fair Friday night and we could not get our car near the hotl. We had to park blocks away...not sure how often that occurrs.

Room Tip: If the street fair is occurring, try to avoid rooms that are on the east side facing the parking gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to all the wonderful restaurants Downtown Gainesville has to offer. We hope you will stay us again the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I couldn't be more happier with this hotel. At the time of arrival, we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The reception desk has a very sunny personality, and couldn't have been more helpful. In fact, all of the folks working in this hotel, from breakfast to housekeeping, were friendly and efficient. The rooms in this hotel are perfectly "Hampton" with their comfy beds with bright white duvets and extra amenities like in-room coffee and complimentary WiFi. And, most importantly, our room was immaculately clean. This was by far the best and most convenient in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We believe we have the best staff in Gainesville too. We appreciate your business and hope you'll visit us again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Definitely more than you would expect from the old notion of a Hampton. The place is so clean from the moment you walk in. There were cookies and snacks waiting in lobby for a social hour they were having. When we got to the room it was clean and quiet and perfect night stay. Plenty of restaurants to pick from that evening when we went out. And it was nice to be able to walk around downtown after dinner. All in all a great getaway (even if it was in town) for me and my husband.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review on our hotel. We do have the perfect location for a special night out for our local residents. We are so happy that you had a wonderful evening with your husband and enjoyed all that downtown Gainesville has to offer.Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I was impressed with this hotel - 1) the staff was very friendly 2) the room was clean and comfortable 3) within walking distance to restaurants/bars 4) the social hour in the lobby was a perk (complimentary beer and snack!)

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#3 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.