We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

For those that like downtown atmosphere, this is the place for you. The hotel itself was situated in the middle of all things downtown. The rooms were nicely sized and very clean. The beds were a little stiff for my taste but to each his own in that regard. The breakfast in the morning was typical hotel buffet faire. The pool is really not a pool but an oversized hot tub with jets and all. Not really a sunbathing type of pool deck.

All in all, a nice place to stay with lots of downtown atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    106
    24
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
59
18
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Gainesville! There are some great restaurants and shops within steps of the front door and the hippodrome theater is right next door (we saw two productions by the kids theater camp that were great!). All of this and just a few blocks away from campus. Only negative were the eggs at breakfast but I have never seen those done well buffet style. Now if only I can get a room here come football season!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for posting such a great review of our property. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you many more times in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Thanks for a great overnight stay! A wonderfully clean room with professional and courteous staff!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your experience with us. We're happy to hear that you think we have a "Great" hotel. We hope to see you again the next time you are passing through the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

As far as Hampton Inns go, this hotel is high above average. We had a very nicely appointed room on the fourth floor, it was comfortable and quiet. Parking is conveniently located next door, and you can use your room key to go in and out as often as you like, which is a pretty good value for $5.
At first I was going to take one star off for the little disagreement we had at the check-in over the room rate (apparently, this hotel charges more for two people staying in a room than for one person - which I don't recall seeing here in the States very often). However, this was taken care of on the final bill, so I really have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your visit to our hotel. We hope you will visit us again the next time your travels bring you to the area. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip for 2 days. Check in was quick and easy. Every staff member I interacted with was friendly and helpful. They had free internet access which worked great. The bed was super comfortable and the room was very clean and roomy. Breakfast was complementary and beyond just toast and cereal. They have a large room on the second floor with tables, couches and TV's where breakfast is served as a buffet with hot eggs, meats, waffles, and all the standard fruit and bread choices. Great coffee too. I will stay here again for sure if I ever need to visit Gainesville.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a great review on our hotel. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you many more times when your travels bring you to the Gainesville area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very clean, nice staff and the best part was all the restaurants nearby. I especially liked Paramount Grill and Manuels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the Gainesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed stay. Comfy, roomy, lots of amenities, nice work area. Friendly, helpful customer service. Clean, well decorated and centrally located to downtown with good restaurants and shops nearby. Only things I could say that's not excellent was the temp on egg and breakfast meat warmer needed turned up, pay to park ($5 a night) and the shower handle wasn't shutting completely off. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#2 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.