We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well maintained, quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Gainesville I-75

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Gainesville I-75 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Gainesville I-75
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3275 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #14 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very well maintained, quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Exceptional front desk staff, with helpful local info and full description of hotel amenities. Rooms are spacious and super clean. Generous Manager's reception featuring local brew pub products. Very nice pool area. Only negative is the parking lot which is somewhat limited and distant from the hotel entry, which is unpleasant in the rain.

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the highway would be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    54
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
51
17
6
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a local - I only needed one night for a university visit the next day. Check-in was fast and efficient and surprisingly friendly. This was my second time to stay at a Residence Inn and I found the room, layout, amenities, etc. to be identical. I assume if you've stayed at one, you've stayed at them all.

I went to the fitness center first - 2 treadmills but 1 was broken. I used the elliptical machine which had a TV attached - unfortunately it wasn't hooked up to the machine correctly so i couldn't use earbuds. The only way to use the TV would be to turn it up loud separately. There were some free weights and a bench - not much room if more than 1 exerciser decides to come.

Afterward I visited the social, where the offering was chicken breasts, buns, and the fixin's including beans, macaroni salad, and potato salad. Felt like a wintertime picnic and enough for a complete dinner - no need to go to a restaurant. They had wine and two local beers which were strong (go easy if you have work to do in the evening).

Wifi in the room was fine and I worked at the desk for several hours. The mattress was on the firm side but not too bad. Everything was nice and clean in the bath area. Actually in retrospect the room had a strong "cleaner" odor when I first walked in but guess I got used to it.

Breakfast was great - nice variety and food was "real", not the prepackaged cheap stuff at some other hotels. The hosts were friendly were helpful both at the social and breakfast.

I'm not sure why the reviews aren't better - I'm pretty picky and I'm not hesitating to rate this 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

More than just clean quite rooms. Managers social is the best in town..Breakfast is more than you ever thought you might want, for breakfast. Location is convient to highway, as well as the main road.[Rt.24] Shopping is very close, as well as many local venues to eat. When in Gainesville Florida one of the best places to stay. Close to Shands Hospital, and University of Florida.

Room Tip: north east rooms further from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is something to be desired; it seems to be a 10-15 minute drive at least to most of the destinations that you would be going to for business: the airport, a nice dinner downtown, or most offices associated with the University.

I was traveling with a colleague of mine, Both of us were given rooms right accross from each other facing the highway-I strongly recommend not facing the highway, as traffic noise awoke me several times during the night.

My room was spacious, and while it is Florida, there were several dead bugs in the bathroom area that did not exactly make the greatest impression. The gym is minimal and definitely needs attention-two treadmills, one broken, and an elliptical. The weights were only free weights (no machines) and started at 20lbs. To be fair, they did offer complementary entry to a local gym, but this presents a problem to travelers who do not have ready access to transportation and need to get a quick workout in.

The front desk did recommend several great restaurants and were very helpful in that regard. The buffet facilities were nice, I didn't have coffee available in my room but it was ready and waiting when I went downstairs in the AM in the common area.

The total price for my room was a bit much based on what was offered-not sure I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, FL
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet area even though it is right of I-75. Our room faced the back and we didn't hear any noise at all. When we entered the room it was very clean but the smell from the cleaning was a bit strong. The bed was very comfortable, but the sofa was kind of sagging and hard to sit on. The room had a nice kitchen and a table for two as well as a desk and another chair. The television could be swiveled to watch from the sitting area or the bed. I did find some hair on the bed that was not from us but the sheets were clean smelling. The breakfast was very good. There was no evening reception on Sunday; they have it only Monday through Thursday. The hotel is located close to a variety of restaurants and shopping. It is pet friendly. The staff was very helpful and cheerful. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

There are many options for lodging in this college town, so you have to pay attention. This hotel is off the beaten path and for that, is still new feeling. The front desk area is welcoming and wide open, which creates an overall good feeling. We made it clear after the last hotel we stayed at, we wanted a clean place to sleep. The receptionist offered us a look around before we settled in. We ended up staying the night and it was worth it.

Our room was perfect for a longer stay and even included a kitchen, table, and pullout bed. If ever we are near another Residence Inn we will certainly stop.

Only down side was that the ac unit is noisy and turns on/off all night.

Room Tip: The king was nice and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Of course we had the nice big studio suite we have become accustomed to at Residence Inn. The location is not pretty, between I-75 and some storage sheds, but it is very close to the University Museum complex which was important for us. There is also lots of shopping and restaurant choices within a mile at the exit. Our main disappointment was the breakfast. It just did not seem quite as good as what we have experienced at other Residence Inns, or even Hampton Inns. Maybe the staff got a bad start on the day or something, but it was poor both days we ate there.

I agree with the comment to ask for a room at the back. No sense in taking on the noise of I-75. In the back, it really was not an issue.

Staff was all friendly and helpful. I would sure try them again and just hope for a better breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for the side away from I-75
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
Family-friendly...
Show More
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Gainesville
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#6 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Gainesville
Homewood Suites Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#15 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Gainesville I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Gainesville I-75

Address: 3275 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Gainesville I-75 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Gainesville by Marriott® hotel is located just 3 miles from the University of Florida including Heavener Football Complex and Ben Hill Griffin Complex as well as Shands at the University of Florida. Spacious extended stay suites include complimentary Internet, mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary parking, pool, fitness center, meeting room, and outdoor patio with fire pit and BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Gainesville I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gainesville i-75 Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Gainesville I-75, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.