We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tribute to a great writer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park
18700 S. CR 325, Cross Creek, Gainesville, FL 32640
352-466-3672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 20 attractions in Gainesville
Type: Historic Sites, State Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic home of the author of "The Yearling."
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A tribute to a great writer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

And also a fine example of old Florida. Visit the state of Florida web site for complete information. Tours of the house and grounds. See her books, her typewriter, her orange trees and chickens. If you have any interest in either history or literature, don't miss this special spot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    22
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I visited with a group and spent twice as much time getting there as we spent looking around. Although the house may take you back in time, there isn't really much to see. The cost is minimal so if you are in the area, and enjoyed Mrs. Rawlings' books, you might stop by her home.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Cracker Cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Marjorie Rawlings was the author of "The Yearling". The cottage was not open at the time of our visit but you could see inside through the doors and windows, The homestead is a nice little park with chickens running around.
'.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Lovely old cracker style cottage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is old Florida at it's finest. If you visit, also rent "Cross Creek" the DVD about Marjorie Rawlings life. It was filmed here and at the little town of Micanopy which is also adorable and like going back in time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Florida History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I had wonderful time here. The tour was informative and interesting, the house and surrounding land is beautiful, and the rangers know every little fact about Rawlings. We were pleasantly surprised and very grateful when the park rangers gave my daughter a brand new, free copy of the Yearling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park also viewed

 

Been to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Historic State Park to your Saves list