We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place for a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Branch Inn

Save Saved
You added Sweetwater Branch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best place for a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son got married here in mid March. The staff here is the best. Sarah, Lauren and everyone else that I came in contact with were most helpful. The rooms were great and the breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend Sweetwater for any type of function or just to enjoy for a stay in Gainesville.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the praise! Sarah and Lauren are certainly stand-out individuals and we take pride in their efforts as part of our team. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
82
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Key West
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We came to Gainesville for our niece's wedding. We were lucky enough to have booked our cottage at Sweetwater Branch Inn early and we were very pleased with our accommodations and the staff at the Inn. We will definitely stay there again if we are ever in Gainesville!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a family or two couples, the cottages are perfect. Two bedrooms, with a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, Michael! We hope that if you are in Gainesville again you will think of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Came to Gainesville for the mother/daughter Kappa Delta week-end. There were so many events going on I had to be placed on the wait list for Sweetwater Branch Inn. Lucky for me, a lovely room became available! I hope to remember to ask for the AAA discount next time but would definately return!

Room Tip: Second floor always a good choice...no outside noise what so ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so glad we were able to find a room for you! Sweetwater Branch Inn is such a special place in Gainesville, and we're glad you could share that with your daughter. Just for future reference, we also offer a UF Parent discount, which is 10% off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a very professionally run B&B - with a full special events department. Rooms in the very cool old houses are spotless and nicely furnished.

Breakfast is always outstanding served buffet style.

Multiple room options. This time we stayed in one of the big houses. But our favorite is one of the duplex cottages behind the main houses.

Room Tip: Again my favorite is one of the duplex cottages in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! If you enjoy our cottages you will want to check out our newest addition, Nora-Belle's Cottage. It is fully renovated and situated next to our new pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to try to walk in to the Sweetwater Branch Inn after dropping our son off after spring break. We are both graduates of UF and never really have the opportunity to enjoy downtown Gainesville when we go back for football weekends. There were two wedding parties booked at the Inn, but we were lucky enough to get the last room available, The Blue Moon Room was a wonderful escape. We walked the grounds and peaked in at the weddings while sipping our wine from the Wine and Cheese Hour. We walked to dinner and around the surrounding neighborhood. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend the Sweetwater Branch Inn and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: The Blue Moon Room is a private, corner room on the top floor. It has a separate sitting room and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We're so glad we had space for you! Please come back and see us soon. Whether it's for a football game, or just a little out-of-town fun, we would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Celebrated our 25th anniversary at this beautiful, elegant, and romantic Victorian B&B. Our room was the "Tea Rose" and it was awesome. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room, very comfortable, clean, beautiful, and functional. The atmosphere made you feel all the history and beauty of times past. We so look forward to spending another weekend at this very special place in Gainesville. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice review. The Tea Rose Room is certainly a guest favorite. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I always look forward to my visits to Gainesville, because I get to stay at Sweetwater Branch Inn!! It is my home away from home. Always a happy smiling face to answer the phone or welcome you. The absolutely best breakfasts ever and I am a cat person so the roaming wild kitties to greet me when I am outside are always a welcome site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Lauren, what high praise! It doesn't really get better than "home away from home". We hope to see you soon. We'll have the delicious breakfast and lazy kitties waiting :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.