We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last room at the Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Branch Inn

Save Saved
You added Sweetwater Branch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Palm City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Last room at the Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I decided to try to walk in to the Sweetwater Branch Inn after dropping our son off after spring break. We are both graduates of UF and never really have the opportunity to enjoy downtown Gainesville when we go back for football weekends. There were two wedding parties booked at the Inn, but we were lucky enough to get the last room available, The Blue Moon Room was a wonderful escape. We walked the grounds and peaked in at the weddings while sipping our wine from the Wine and Cheese Hour. We walked to dinner and around the surrounding neighborhood. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. We highly recommend the Sweetwater Branch Inn and look forward to another visit.

Room Tip: The Blue Moon Room is a private, corner room on the top floor. It has a separate sitting room and la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We're so glad we had space for you! Please come back and see us soon. Whether it's for a football game, or just a little out-of-town fun, we would love to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
82
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wilton Manors, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Celebrated our 25th anniversary at this beautiful, elegant, and romantic Victorian B&B. Our room was the "Tea Rose" and it was awesome. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room, very comfortable, clean, beautiful, and functional. The atmosphere made you feel all the history and beauty of times past. We so look forward to spending another weekend at this very special place in Gainesville. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such a nice review. The Tea Rose Room is certainly a guest favorite. Please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I always look forward to my visits to Gainesville, because I get to stay at Sweetwater Branch Inn!! It is my home away from home. Always a happy smiling face to answer the phone or welcome you. The absolutely best breakfasts ever and I am a cat person so the roaming wild kitties to greet me when I am outside are always a welcome site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Lauren, what high praise! It doesn't really get better than "home away from home". We hope to see you soon. We'll have the delicious breakfast and lazy kitties waiting :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Heirloom room for our 23rd Anniversary and it was wonderful. It has a beautiful sunroom and access to a great porch upstairs. The decor was very Victorian looking just like you expect. The breakfast is so good you wish you could eat more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Kathleen! Thank you for spending such a special evening with us. We're glad you enjoyed yourself, and we hope we can make celebrating your anniversary at Sweetwater Branch Inn a tradition! Also, don't be shy at breakfast - there is always enough for seconds :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in the Heirloom room with my daughter. It was furnished with beautiful antiques as was the rest of the house.This room had a separate small sunroom with a comfortable sleeper sofa. There are other rooms at the Inn with a similar arrangement if you need the space for another person(s). The property and grounds were lovely and I can see why this is so popular for weddings and receptions. We were able to walk to the downtown area for dining and shopping. There is a walking park just behind the Inn to cut through to get there. Our breakfast was awesome! It was served buffett style and the staff explained everything that was prepared. There are many places to sit and enjoy in the house. We ate one day at the dining table just past the kitchen area and admired the array of antiques and lovely chandelier. The next day we sat on the huge front porch set up with tables and chairs. It s enclosed for comfort but nothing obstructs the view of the front garden. Each room had its designated off street parking space for 1 vehicle but I noticed there was additional parking for Inn guests very close by. This is a great place to stay for couples,friends,and families with older(at least school age)children. I would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: This is an old restored home. If you have trouble with stairs,request a first floor room or a cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Judith, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such a thorough guest perspective for our future guests! We hope the lovely time you had will keep you coming back to see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and loved it so much we extended our stay for two extra nights. We can't wait to come back when the swimming area is completed. We stayed upstairs in the McKenzie house, everything was clean and comfortable, the decor classic B&B, and I just love those old Victorian houses! We visit our children every month and I'm happy to say we finally found a place we love.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, be sure to tell the innkeeper when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi Cindy! Thank you for the wonderful review. The pool is complete now, so you'll have to come back and stay with us this summer! We also have a newly renovated cottage called Nora-Belle's that we're sure you would really enjoy. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had to be in Gainesville only overnight, and wanted to avoid the chain hotel experience. Fortunately, we found the Sweetwater Branch Inn and we will definitely be back! Our room on the third floor of the main house was lovely; the house is beautifully maintained and the grounds are gorgeous. We loved the gourmet breakfast the next morning, and the staff were exceptionally warm and welcoming. We would recommend this inn to anyone who appreciates staying in a charming, historic home.

Room Tip: Loved the Luisa room, but we were able to see several other rooms during our stay and all were lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, Shelley! Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.