We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Accomodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Branch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sweetwater Branch Inn to your Saves list
Sweetwater Branch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Incredibly Accomodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Unfortunately, I was hospitalized on the day of my initial reservation. But when I called SWB 30 min. before my check-in time they painlessly switched my reservation to a later date without any questions or fees!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so happy that we were able to relieve some of the stress this situation must have put on you. Please come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    26
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
88
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Everybody was friendly and eager to please, all public rooms and also the bedroom were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were great and plentiful. We enjoyed the party and the food served was delicious. I definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding! :) We hope you'll come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I am a UF alum and now a parent of a Gator. After staying at the usual hotels in the area, we tried the Sweetwater Branch Inn for our recent trip to Gainesville and wished we had done so before. We stayed in the Isadora room as I was most interested in the charm of the attic rooms. It was definitely charming and unique and exactly what we wanted. The jacuzzi tub was a perfect touch after a cold and rainy day. The folks at Sweetwater were all very welcoming and we enjoyed meeting new faces at the cocktail hour as well as breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was very tasty and unlike the basic items offered at the hotels. We were treated to pumpkin pancakes, fresh oranges, a frittata, eggs, fresh yogurt with granola and more. Our trip was short for this occasion, so we did not have the opportunity to fully explore the grounds, but they looked lovely. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We love our Gator families! We'd love to host your next Gainesville stay. Be sure to ask about the UF Parent discount! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After 22 years I visited Gainesville, the place I once studied as an exchange student from the Netherlands. I could not have chosen a better b&b to stay than the Sweetwater Branch Inn.

My UF-friend and I stayed at a cute, cozy cottage. Not too modern, but all amenities were there. For breakfast we walked throught the great garden, location for many events and weddings. And the breakfast... omg, when you open the door to the main house you smell all the freshy baked pies, cakes, omelettes etc. If you have not decided yet where to stay in Gainesville, book this place, just for the breakfast...!

Room Tip: if you want less hotel-feeling, and more home-away-from-home, book a cute cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Mmmmmm, we love our breakfast too. We're always changing recipes and adding new things to our menu, so next time you stay you'll be just as satisfied if not more! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had never before stayed in a B&B, this was our first. It was a gift to us from our adult children, and we loved it!

The place was well kept, clean, and a very enjoyable place to stay. It was conveniently located and the nearby "Swamphead Brewery" had some great craft brews.

We would do this again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
First time bed and breakfast guests are the best! We love to make good impressions and turn you away from the less personal bare minimum hotel chains! Come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Wonderfully friendly, clean, comfortable and convenient bed and breakfast. Bed was exceptional and the amenities were convenient as well as the location close to many great places to eat. Loved the home feel and breakfast was out of this world. The perfect place to have a quiet and romantic evening. Did not want it to end so we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Personally love the secluded nature of the cottages with additional privacy and the feel of a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dear Sweetwater Staff,

We wanted to write and express our sincerest gratitude for making our recent stay with you so amazing. We are always at Sweetwater for events but had never had the pleasure of staying with you until this past weekend on 12/08/12. It was our sixth wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a better place to celebrate it. The Isadora suite was immaculate and so adorable. The staff was welcoming and eager to make us feel at home. We enjoyed the proximity to downtown Gainesville and it was very convenient for our dinner reservations. We spent the evening sipping Champagne in the Bay window seat in our room overlooking the property. It was the perfect setting for our special evening. We slept wonderfully in the comfortable room and were greeted with most wonderful home cooked breakfast in the morning. The morning staff was very accommodating and made our breakfast so enjoyable. In short, Great rooms, Great food, Great staff, great service….. 10 out of 10 on any scale!!!!!! We are so happy that we chose to stay with you guys and cannot wait to do it again soon!!!! Thank you again for all you do.

Best Regards,

Jarad Bowens
Gnys Entertainment
Ph: 352-678-7030
Fx: 888-758-6829
www.gnysentertainment.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.