We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality abounds at the Sweetwater Branch Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Branch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sweetwater Branch Inn to your Saves list
Sweetwater Branch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
“Hospitality abounds at the Sweetwater Branch Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment my husband and I stepped on to the property of the Sweetwater Branch Inn, we felt "at home." Scott greeted us with a warm smile and quickly checked us in to our room. He provided information about the inn as well as local events that were going on during the weekend. We stayed in the Isadora room of the McKenzie House. I have to say the pictures on the website don't do this room justice. From the comfy bed to the jacuzzi tub, everything was perfect. We enjoyed reading in the stained glass window sitting area and even took a nap there in the afternoon. I can't even begin to convey how scrumptious the breakfast was at the Sweetwater. Everything was homemade from the corned beef hash to the granola. The staff welcomed us into the kitchen and it felt like we were part of the family. Even Butterscotch, one of the resident felines, greeted us each morning. The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed sipping a glass of wine in the evening while listening to one of the many fountains on the property. We were celebrating our anniversay and I believe that the Sweetwater Branch Inn will become our traditional anniversary getaway. If you are looking for hospitality, clean rooms with southern charm and a relaxing retreat from a busy life, I hightly recommend the Sweetwater Branch Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Linda! We absolutely LOVED having you two around. And Butterscotch has never been so happy :) Please do come stay with us again, and thank you from all of us here at Sweetwater Branch Inn for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    26
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
88
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for your stay in Gainesville. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. My wife lost one her diamond earrings while there, and one of the staff found it and returned it to her, Breakfast was also a "10 out of 10" !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Stephen and Denise,

It was a pleasure having you at the inn! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I wanted to share my experience at Sweetwater Baranch Inn. They were so friendly, attentive and helpful. An exceptional experience overall.
We had booked the Mackenzie hall at Sweetwater for our daughters wedding. They were there every step of the way to make sure what we needed, we received. We had decided after we booked the wedding reception to stay at the Inn. There were about 20-25 family members staying with us. We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed the house so much. The house makes you feel like you are walking into your grandparent home. The breakfast in the morning fills the house with a beautiful smell that beckons you to the large front porch to sit, eat and linger. We will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Leslie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with future guests! We are glad you, your family and friends enjoyed all of our facilities. We hope to share many more special moments with all of you in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sweetwater Branch Inn for 2 night this past summer. The cottage was very spacious with ample room to throw a small party. It has a well appointed eat in kitchen, a Jacucuzzi on the porch, and a super comfy bed.
The gardens were gorgeous and the food was delicious! I had a wonderful time chatting with the innkeepers too.
It is located in a lovely area with lots of period homes. It is convinient to the University, shopping , and resturants. The breakfast was wonderful and I really enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The cottages are very spacious and good for families. They would also accomdate extra company for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi Sarah,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay enough to leave a review! The extra "room tip" for future guests is a nice touch as well. We truly pride ourselves on providing a unique experience for our guests and your recognition of this is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

When my 15-year-old daughter and I walked in to our oh-so-charming attic room, the first words out of her mouth were "I want to live here and I want this to be my room!" I could live here too! Our room and several others we saw was spottlessly clean and beautifully decorated. They have somehow created charming without all the shabby you sometimes find in B&Bs. The outside spaces are also beautifully kept - we especially admired the freeform pond with lilypads in bloom. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We liked the privacy and quality in the "blue house" but the "peach house" is wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi sullyinfl,

This is such a great compliment! We all know how hard teenagers can be to please, so the fact that she wanted to move in speaks volumes! We really do try very hard to ensure each room is unique and "traditional" while avoiding clutter, so we appreciate that you feel at home here. Please make sure to come see us again next time you are in Gainesville!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place wraps itself around you from the moment you walk through the door. I stayed in the Tearose room---spacious,quiet,beautifully appointed. Did I mention the huge jacuzzi tub? The staff is friendly and helpful, breakfasts delicious, and the beautiful Southern garden memorable. The inn is just a few blocks from downtown Gainesville, great restaurants and shopping. This is my new go-to place when staying in Gainesville.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hello Anaya,

We just wanted to take the time to thank you for your review. We absolutely love when guests consider us their home away from home, and would love to add you to our ever-growing list of friends! The Tea Rose room is a staff favorite as well, and who doesn't love a stroll in a beautiful garden? We hope to see you again soon - maybe for a Gator's game!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife, daughter and I spent an afternoon and evening at Sweetwater Branch Inn on July 12, and we really enjoyed the Lilly's cottage we stayed in. There was lots of room to stretch out and cool off. There was a nice whirlpool spa on the back porch, but we did not have an opportunity to use it. The Inn has a beautiful garden where they have weddings, and receptions in the main house. We were in Gainesville to visit and tour the UF campus. We had a wonderful dinner just a short walk to the west at Harry's Bar and Seafood. Before we left in the morning to visit the campus, we really enjoyed the homemade breakfast of granola, egg frittata, and delicious french toast. Our stay was very pleasant, and the girls found plenty of time to pet the local cats. After the campus tour we went back to SE 2nd Ave. and S. Main St. to go through the shops and galleries. Fun stuff around Sweetwater Branch Inn!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dwight,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! It is our great pleasure to host families like your own, who are deciding if Gainesville and the University of Florida is a good fit for their child. Our central location makes it easy for parents to get a feel for what our city has to offer, while still providing a comfortable, family friendly environment. We are so happy that you had such a fun-filled vacation, and we wish your students all the best in their educational journey. Go Gators!

Please come visit us the next time you are in town - and keep in mind we offer a 10% discount to all UF parents!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.