We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetwater Branch Inn

Save Saved
You added Sweetwater Branch Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Gainesville B&B and Inns
South Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Repeat visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've stayed here several times and enjoyed each stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the breakfast is abundant. Wine and cheese before dinner are nice as well. On my most recent visit there was a wedding, so I took the opportunity to wander through the property (before the wedding, since I was visiting Gainesville for a different reason). Out the back of the property, which is lovely, there's a small park nearby between the B&B and Bo Diddley plaza/downtown. Great little park!
As a repeat visitor to Sweetwater, I've been treated to discounts on my room and even a welcome bottle of wine. The people are so warm and welcoming, I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. I've come to think of the little Camelot room as "my" room! Thank you for another perfect stay.

Room Tip: The Camelot room is pretty small, though it's comfortable. It is on the first floor, though, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear EGSFL,

We are so proud that guests like you have so many kind words about our bed and breakfast. Hosting familiar faces makes this feel like home for you AND our staff. Here at Sweetwater Branch Inn, we like to think we are more than just a place to stay, and we try to embody that with everything we do - from guest interactions to the amenities we provide.

We're looking forward to the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    20
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
37
79
6
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, FL
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

What a wonderful B&B! It's only a couple of blocks from the center of old Gainesville and the hotspot of current nightlife, with restaurants, bars, and the Bo Diddley Plaza just a short walk away. Our two-room suite on the first floor (the Piccadilly) was inexpensive, and yet very comfortable, pleasing to all the senses. It opened into a living/sitting room with comfortable couches and chairs and light classical music playing in the background, but we heard nothing in our room itself. The 6:00 wine and cheese had two reasonably good wines, perfect for the setting. There is an intricate and enjoyable formal garden in back of the property, connecting several buildings with a pathway. The only flaw in an otherwise perfect B&B experience was the weakness of the WiFi signal. We gave up and used our smart phones.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Hi there!

We appreciate the review! It's always good to get realistic feedback about our bed and breakfast. In the time since you stayed with us we have taken on a new networking specialist who has brought us - literally and figuratively - up to speed. We hope next time you are in Gainesville you can come enjoy all of the amenities, including our newly reconfigured WiFi!

Looking forward to your next visit,
The Sweetwater Branch Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is one of THE BEST PLACES we have ever stayed in. Victoria's Cottage is a very special "home". Has everything you could want or need. Great front porch to sit on a rocking chair and enjoy the surroundings. Beautiful gardens, great food, but most of all, the staff. Nicest group of people we have ever met. You made our 20th anniversary very memorable. THANK YOU ALL. Carol & Denny

Room Tip: Mobility problems? Ask for a ground floor location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Carol & Denny,

Reviews like yours truly make working in this business a joy. We are so glad that you were able to spend such a momentous occasion here with us at Sweetwater Branch Inn. It was genuinely our pleasure. We love our guests, and the feeling you got being here is what we strive to give everyone who comes through our door. Please come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is our second visit here..First time 18 months ago for a family weekend wedding.. we enjoyed it so much we decided to spend our anniversary there.. Other than the rainy weather, only Mother Nature had control over that, our visit was as pleasant if not more so than our first.. Everything perfect, staff, room, breakfast, wine and cheese in evenings, the grounds beautifully landscaped, the lazy cats roaming around, butterflies.. very serene..Lots of attractions near by...

Room Tip: Maybe stay in one of the Cottages if you want more privacy..Camelot room behind kitchen small and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hi Karen!

We really appreciate you taking the time to say such nice things about us, and we are overjoyed that we were your destination for a romantic anniversary! We truly pride ourselves on providing our guests with a great atmosphere and really appreciate that you have noticed the time we spend maintaining our gardens - and feeding our cats! ;)

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Cornelia, Morgan, Rhea, Cory and staff at Sweetwater Branch Inn will make your stay a wonderful visit and outstanding night. The food is delicious and they are so willing to provide the best experience. I made a special stop just to stay one night there....I wish I had more time and can't wait to visit AGAIN!!! Thank You JDP...dude on the motorcycle with horns! : )

Room Tip: I stayed in the Tea Rose room...excellent room with a jacuzi tub....HUGE bed and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
JD,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We really enjoyed hosting you, and can't wait for you to stay again! Thanks for putting the tip about the Tea Rose room out there - it's one of our favorites as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Interesting architecture but it reminds me of staying in my grandma's attic as a kid. A little musty and old-smelling, but rich with charm. The rooms are not very large and the furniture was not very comfortable. The bed was pretty nice but the comforter was outdated and musty. Breakfast was average with watered down orange juice (how sad for Flordia!), mediocre eggs, and unripe melons. The crepes were good as were the english muffins. I've had much better food at other bed and breakfast's in the past. It is close to downtown so you can walk to a lot of bars and restaurants which is nice. You can hear the traffic from University inside the house, which really takes away from the atmosphere. Not a terrible stay but I'm sure there are better places in Gainesville.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Owner at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our 18 room inn has a large variety of rooms, each with their own charm. Our inn is lucky enough to have two rooms located in the original 1885 McKenzie House attic. Many of our guests choose these rooms over others for their interesting ceilings and configuration. Attics can sometimes have a distinctive smell, although we have never received complaints about this in the past. We feel that the bed cover and overall decor is traditional rather than out dated. We do have more modern looking rooms available and we hope that our pictures allow guests to choose the room most suited for them. We do apologize that you found our breakfast mediocre. In regard to the orange juice, the only thing we can figure is that it must have separated between the time it was set out and when you came down for breakfast. We generally provide fresh squeezed orange juice from October through mid-May but seeing as it is not orange season, the cost is prohibitive. We do provide a lengthy assortment of breakfast staples: freshly scrambled eggs or eggs to order (not to mention our gourmet fritattas and omelets), decadent french toast, Sweetwater's famous crepes, homemade granola, organic yogurt, assorted breads and meat. We hope that these options accommodate all tastes and diets. We go to great lengths to provide descriptions of each room, including location, i.e. street-side or non street-side. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. Giving each guest a quality stay and exceptional experience is our goal we really do care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Sara'h Cottage . The cottage is really small, that was ok with us.It is clean but the location is very bad.We didn't feel safe at all.All the gates are always open and anyone could get in.There is a lot of homeless people passing by on the bike and that was scary.There is a creepy house next to the cottage and guy screaming at night so we couldn't sleep.(that was 2 nights only) and we stayed 5. But anyway enough for someone coming for the first time to this area to feel unsafe. The breakfast--ok.frittata every morning and same thing not a big choice maybe because they were slow at the time...was not impressed with it.Anyway it is ok...but I wouldn't go back for the amount of money they are charging !It is not worth it!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Owner at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Sweetwater Branch Inn (as are most inns) is located in a historic downtown area.Unfortunately, with the convenience of downtown also comes a large population of homeless people. These people are harmless but we do understand that they can cause discomfort for some. Many years ago, we installed motion detector lights to make our guests feel more secure. I, as well as my extended family and most of our staff members live or have lived within blocks of the inn for many years and have never had any security issues. For someone unaccustomed to urban/downtown life, it may seem threatening. We would like to emphasize that despite our proximity from downtown, we are located in a neighborhood and more importantly within a community that looks out for one another. As for our breakfasts, we do provide a wide assortment of breakfast options daily, despite our occupancy. We care very much about the quality of stay for each and every one of our guests and we apologize that Sweetwater did not meet your expectations. P.S. With regard to the price, we feel that $80 a night with breakfast and wine and cheese for a private cottage is a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E. University Ave., Gainesville, FL 32601
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetwater Branch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.