We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's Trattoria

Francesca's Trattoria
4410 NW 25th Pl, Gainesville, FL 32606-6563
352-378-7152
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 472 Restaurants in Gainesville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top notch Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

After living in Gainesville for 10+ years we had never been to this gem. Made it there tonight and was pleasantly surprised. The pasta massimo was very good but the bucatini ala shrimp and goat cheese was the star. Service was exquisite and we took a tiramisu to go which was also excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    48
    21
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerly, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good, Basic Italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This busy trattoria serves up predictable Italian favorites in a very pleasant setting. Our party of seven arrived early and was seated promptly, but reservations are definitely recommended as the restaurant filled up quickly. The Bucatina All' Amatriciana was good, and the rest of our party made short work of their entre's as well. Acceptable food in a better than average atmosphere

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here for my birthday dinner last year with my grown children. Food was OK, nothing great, kind of heavy. We had reservations, didn't need them, the place was almost empty. It's large inside, like you would find in a chain restaurant. Won't be going back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant never disappoints. The portion are large and the food delicious. Servers are also top notch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Low Key New Year's Dinner, Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had dinner at Francesca's on New Year's Eve. Our reservations were for 9pm and we were seated quickly. We ordered off the regular menu and all had delicious meals. My chicken Marsala was tasty with a rich sauce. My husband had a salmon dish with a spicy pasta sauce. If you want a good meal with good service in a relaxing atmosphere, Francesca's is it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Trattoria also viewed

 
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to Francesca's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesca's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.