We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reitz Union Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus
Museum Road at Reitz Union Drive, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Reitz Union Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A great place to stay if you are visiting UF for a visit, orientation, or parent’s weekend. Located in the student union, rooms are clean and spacious, but it is not a fancy hotel. Continental breakfast is provided on each floor (near the elevators), which is very convenient. Parking is provided but you have to navigate stairs, so drop off your bags first. Definitely worth the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
futuregator, General Manager at Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your comments and especially in ways we can improve our services. We strive to find ways to improve and our goal is to exceed your expectations.
Thank you for your support of the University of Florida and Go Gators!
Sincerely,
Christopher C. Kehn, CHA & The Student Employee Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
2
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed one night in Gainesville and wanted to stay n campus. We arrived at about 3:30 on Friday afternoon. Our directions said to use one of the 15-minute spaces in front of the hotel. All spaces were occupied (for over 30 minutes in most cases) and there was literally nowhere to park to check in. I ended up dropping my husband off and driving around in circles while he got us checked in -- he said checking was easy and efficient. We got a pass to the parking deck and found a parking space easily.m en we had to get to our room. There are two choices. You can use the elevator (if the bookstore is open), go through the bookstore to another elevator, go through the entire food court, finally get to the elevator to the hotel,floors. Or, if the book store is closed, you can go up a flight of stairs and take an exterior walkway all the way around the union to get to the elevator to the rooms. Since we couldn't park and unload in front, we ended up using both of these routes. Fortunately, the weather was good and we don't have accessibility problems. The room itself was very nice. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. All the people we encountered were great-- very helpful and patient explaining how to get to the room. Breakfast was minimal but ok. I think the Union is being remodeled. Sure hope they make it easier to stay in their hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a very nice room
only issue was a small ledge at the entrance of the bathroom ( definitely a toe stubber )
excellent facility located directly in the middle of campus.
small complimentary breakfast
well-priced

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Front desk was very pleasant and accommodating. Accommodations were not ritzy, but were expected for price point. Room was clean but dated. A fresh coat of paint would go a long way. Parking access is inconvenient, especially if you have heavy luggage and arrive late, since stairs are the only option when the Bookstore is closed. Very quiet. Typical student fare, fast food dining options are convenient, but more substantial dining requires off campus travel. Complimentary wifi and continental breakfast were nice. Campus activity/business would be only reason to book the Reitz Union.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If you have ever been to Gainesville you would know hotels around campus are few. The Hilton is over priced and the holiday inn is worn out so the union is your only choice without having to stay at the highway. The room is clean and bed comfortable. The furnishings are nice as well. The room smelled a little musty from age. My guess is the aging ac needs to be replaced. The bathroom while cleAn could use an overhaul . Stairs are an issue once you park. When parking in the garage you will have no choice but to use them. The patio is great. After all is there anything more wonderful for a gator then a view of the stadium or campus? If you think it would be great to be near the union food court for meals remember they operate on student hours. I'm currently sitting in my room at the union typing this because the Starbucks doesn't even open till noon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting UF. Hotel is right on campus in the Reitz Union Student Union building.
Pros:
- clean room with spacious balcony and view of UF stadium
- comfortable beds and pillows
- excellent location if visiting UF
- parking is free
- includes continental breakfast (but was limited with only coffee, juice, bagels, and yogurt)
- lots of food choices in the Student Union (Starbucks, market with frozen yogurt and sushi, Panda Express, salads, subs, etc.)
- staff are very helpful and friendly
Cons:
- parking is confusing but that really can't be helped
Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 circle loading zone in front of the Reitz Union, go in to the desk to check in, You may want to unload your luggage before parking in the garage -- there are ramps and elevators from the front loading area to your room. If you go to the parking garage first, you'll have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs.
Note: students do not have access to the hotel floors. You must use your room key in the elevator to access the hotel floors.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for one night so my son could visit U of F. Check in was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat for doing things on campus. As the hotel is in the student union you have access to the food court and bookstore. Room was very basic but clean and it had a nice balcony facing the football stadium. Free breakfast was decent served in a hallway. Once you get the hang of the confusing access to the garage, it's an easy process. I paid $99 for the room and that is a fair price for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

Address: Museum Road at Reitz Union Drive, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of the University of Florida campus, the Reitz Union Hotel offers comfortable and affordable accommodations for the entire UF community. Located atop the UF student union, our 36 rooms come in various configurations from a standard room with 2 double beds to 2 room suites. We offer a convenient campus location, free local telephone calls, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room refrigerators and reserved campus parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus to your Saves list