We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you have University business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus
Museum Road at Reitz Union Drive, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Only if you have University business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for one night so my son could visit U of F. Check in was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat for doing things on campus. As the hotel is in the student union you have access to the food court and bookstore. Room was very basic but clean and it had a nice balcony facing the football stadium. Free breakfast was decent served in a hallway. Once you get the hang of the confusing access to the garage, it's an easy process. I paid $99 for the room and that is a fair price for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
2
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walt Disney World, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The views of campus are amazing. We had a corner room on the 6th floor looking the Swamp and Century Tower - awesome! The room was very clean with nice furniture, but a little small. There is a complimentary continental breakfast which was good, but a little limited on selection. They only had yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea & OJ. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend to attend a Florida Men's Basketball Game. We had a Deluxe Guest Room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and spacious. We were able to walk to most anywhere on campus. Parking in the attached garage was included in the room rate. The complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, cereal, oatmeal, juices, and coffee. Perfectly fine for our needs. Our only disappointment was that there were very few places open on the weekend to eat at the Reitz Union. The Starbucks was closed the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently visited UF campus and were recommended the Reitz Union Hotel, which turned out to be an excellent choice. Room was clean and spacious and overall extremely comfortable. Balcony with chairs and table. Excellent continental style breakfast with good choice of cereal, bagels, pastries etc. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here while visiting UF on business. Front of house staff were very helpful and we received a discount voucher for dining within the union. The room had a balcony meaning you could make the most of what the sunshine state does best. Room very clean and offered a nice variety of guest supplies. The complimentary breakfast was amazing and most tastes would be catered for.

The only minor (and it is a very minor) grumble was that there was some weird switching to the sockets to the room meaning if you switched the lights out she heading out, you couldn't charge things plugged into the sockets.

This hotel is a good All rounder and a great option if visiting University of Florida.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Reitz Union Hotel but this was the first time in a suite. (room 620). For $119 the extra space and wrap around balcony was well worth the upgrade. All other rooms were booked and I really think I will pay the additional fee on my next visit for the value recieved.
The Union is my first preference to stay in town because:
-on-campus
-staff
-view
-well managed and maintained by UF Office of Student Affairs
-very safe

Room Tip: upgrade to a suite if possible Standard rooms 507,607,515 and 615 have great views Call hotel dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nothing more convenient than staying here for a Campus visit. Other than that, no real reason to stay in this older hotel located in the middle of the student union building. Parking and access to the actual hotel area are both kind of annoying and convoluted. I was there on a special seminar rate but regular rate is a bit high in my opinion for an aging facility but again, you're paying for the convenience of being right in the heart of the University of Florida campus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the football field - great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

Address: Museum Road at Reitz Union Drive, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of the University of Florida campus, the Reitz Union Hotel offers comfortable and affordable accommodations for the entire UF community. Located atop the UF student union, our 36 rooms come in various configurations from a standard room with 2 double beds to 2 room suites. We offer a convenient campus location, free local telephone calls, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room refrigerators and reserved campus parking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus to your Saves list