We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service at its best ! ! Not used to seeing that these days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 hotels in Gainesville
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
“Customer Service at its best ! ! Not used to seeing that these days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife & I had to travel here to visit family in the hospital and had already booked online. After inquiring what brought us to Gainesville, the Hotel Manager insisted they make some phone calls to get our rate lowered by receiving a "Hospital Discount". We even said not to worry about it, but she (Manager) insisted. The rest of the stay was very nice as well. The hotel was very clean, local to many shops & restuarants, and they served a nice complimentary breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    68
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
110
60
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
young harris, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

These people were all friendly and showed an obvious interest in our welfare. They went out of their way to please us and give us the best service. We've stayed in a lot of Choice Moels and this one is the best. Kudos to manager Bruce.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We came to Gainesville because my son had to have surgery at Shands. The staff were very caring and thoughtful and understanding on how tramatic our visit to the hospital was and little things made the biggest difference. A fairly new hotel and the room was very large and clean. The price was great. We had fresly baked cookies and popcorn upon arrival. Make my son's night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatorFan49, Owner at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this review, February 16, 2011
Thanks for choosing to stay at our Sleep Inn in Gainesville. We have a lot of patients who have to come to Shands Hospital for medical reasons and our staff is truly committed to providing our customers with the best stay possible. I am glad you were able to experience our hospitality and of course the cookies and popcorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahira, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Staff was EXCELLENT,When it was raining ,one of the staff at front desk went and got my truck for me,,how nice ,my husban was in gainesville to go to va hosp ,to have heart tmt, and the staff ask ask how he was doing , they made us feel right at home ,close to va hosp, and food places,great hot breakfest ,,clean room,s and great staff,,, and we thank you

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We were presented with the General manager's personal cell phone number at the beginning of the stay in case anything happened and we needed to talk to him. Where have you ever been to a hotel where anyone cared enough to give you their personal cell phone to use. The letter told us to call 24 hours a day if we needed him. I was amazed. The staff was great. The hotel was wonderful. The breakfast had sausage gravy, biscuits, waffles, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon and more. The hotel was the best hotel I have stayed at in a long time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainesport, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

The employees were friendly and helpful. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the entire building and our room. The continental breakfast was the best we have ever had at a motel. We would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

This new Sleep Inn is a great deal and is next to I-75. There is tons of shopping near by. Lots of restaurants as well. The rooms are very nice and the breakfast is not what you would expect at a Sleep Inn: the usual plus scrambled eggs, bacon, boiled eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatorFan49, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Thanks for taking time to acknowledge the extras you get at our Sleep Inn with the expanded breakfast and the new condition of our property. We look forward to having you stay agin the next time your are back in Gainesville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.