We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for stopover.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good hotel for stopover.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Nice clean, large room. Quiet. Good breakfast. Cannot park in front of room. Helpful staff. Close to I-75

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    76
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
117
68
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

The person at check-in was friendly, efficient, knowledgable, and genuinely sincere about making sure our room was what we wanted and needed. All personnel we encountered were very friendly. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Will definitely stay at this location in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

After a long trip, I was greeted and with a bright and enthusiastic smile. The check-in process was swift and informative. The room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was hearty and well maintained. There are also plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area. I will definately stay here again on my next trip to Gainesville.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Sunday night, motel probably had a half dozen guests. Our suite room was clean and comfortable, nice bed and couch. Carpet appeared nearly new. Door deadbolt would not lock, door appeared to be sagging on hinges. Hard to lock and I think a solid push would have sprung it open.. we could hear other guests having trouble with their doors, multiple slammings. Toilet seat hinge broken which made it sit two inches off center. Bathroom door had big bash mark which crushed bottom corner.

Two computers in business center but one was broken.

Otherwise a nice, clean motel. Breakfast was good with waffles, sausage gravy biscuits, scrambled eggs (dry). This place was no Hampton Inn but room rate was $81, a good deal. There were several nice looking motels nearby including Hampton Inn and Super 8.

I would come back but I would ask to see the room first.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

I have to admit, I am usually not very comfortable staying at hotels but this place was absolutely wonderful! You couldn't ask for better customer service from the staff - they were always friendly and truly seemed to enjoy their job. It has a great breakfast - hot and fresh. Obviously, this is a new hotel but the fact that it was CLEAN has definitely won me over!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville fl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

From the moment you walk in the door to the breakfast the next morning. It was first class the whole way.
The guess service was fantastic. Help with finding great places to go around town and gave a very personal feel. The rooms were perfect clean and organized. The next morning we went down for breakfast and they had plenty of hot food and fresh breakfast items.
I would highly recommend to anyone who is going to Gainesville Fl.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Sleep Inn & Suites. The staff was very friendly. They even had a hot breakfast and it look like a new hotel. The rooms were very clean. I would recommend my friends and family to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.