We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel recently. All hotels should be run as efficiently and pleasantly as is this one. From the friendly greeting, to the letter from the general manager promising to assist us if we encountered any problems, to the quality of the room, there was nothing with which to find any fault at all.

The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the refrigerator and microwave were nice to have although we used neither.

The breakfast was better than at most similar hotels, and the attendant worked hard to make sure that everything was well-stocked. Having scrambled eggs instead of the institutional egg "frisbie" was a pleasant surprise, as was having a choice of cereals that wasn't limited to Fruit Loops, Frosted Flakes, and other sugar bombs. We also looked forward to the nightly cookies.

Will definitely stay at the Sleep Inn on future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    76
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
117
68
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel was very clean and well run. Breakfast was very good and well organized. Didn't use any other of the facilities only was there one night, will use it again. Staff was very friendly and accomadating.

Room Tip: Check more than one booking site, some are cheaper than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Reasonably priced, well designed hotel. Comfortable and clean rooms. We don't wake up early enough for the breakfast but coffee and cookies always available. Although not the most upscale hotel in Gainesville (which I also stay at during my frequent visits) it is certainly the best bang for your buck. Extra friendly staff who is well aware of their high tripadvisor ranking and always go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've stayed here 4 times or so when in town for our UF students. I haven't written a review till now because everything is just as expected. Reasonable price, decent rooms, breakfast. It's what we need when we're in town.
There's a very conscientious fellow who mans the breakfast room and makes sure everything is stocked. The only thing I'd mention is that the breakfast is the same every day. A little variety might be welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I've always been wary of hotels that use silly names like Bide-a-wee so I hesitated about staying at the Sleep Inn, but the Trip Advisor reviews were great so I took a chance. Good news, the reviews are right – the hotel with the silly name is fantastic.

Well lit, friendly lobby with free popcorn and cookies; pool and exercise machines that work, super clean throughout and a smiling front desk clerk who handed me a letter from the manager that included his phone # and a request to call him 24/7 if there is anything I'm not happy with. This is beyond Hilton quality and I haven't even reached the room yet.

The room is spacious, very tastefully decorated and laid out perfectly for business with a no-nonsense work desk, fridge an microwave, and a decent sofa and coffee table. Excellent bed and pillows, and full shower stall (no tub) in a big bathroom round out the picture. The only thing they must change is the TV channel package. In a hotel of this quality, they have the basic extended package in SD with no HBO or SHO. Great TV with crummy picture quality.

But breakfast was good and the price was a huge bargain because I was able to book and pay in advance (you can't change the rez with this option) so all in all, 4.75 stars out of 5. This hotel felt more like a clubhouse than a mid-priced, road side inn.

Sleep Inn – sleep well!

Room Tip: 3rd floor is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful during our football weekend stay. Free popcorn in the afternoon, free cookies in the evening, free full hot breakfast, and an unexpected treat was the free gameday bbq ...ribs, hot dogs, hamburgers, cole slaw, baked beans, drinks, and cake. The free shuttle to the stadium was great! The suite was spacious and clean. As alumni of the opposing team, we were pleasantly surprised at the hospitality extended to us. Location is especially convenient to I-75.

Tennessee fans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed there many times over the last 4 years. I sometimes teach at the dental School at University of Florida and also go to almost every home football game. Well, Mr. Bruce Cribbs, general manager, takes such good care of me and the other alumni who have also decided to only stay at Sleep Inn. As an example of the incredible personal service they offer, this past weekend, I had forgotten my ticket. My wife Fed Exed the ticket and it was to arrive around 11:30 Well as I was telling the manager about our tail gate party that I was going to have to miss, waiting for the package to be delivered, Bruce Cribbs said, no problem, go to your tail gate party, and he would personally deliver the ticket to me. I have told everyone about that true story, and it is just one example of how he runs the hotel with outstanding, consistent personal attention. The place still looks brand new, the free breakfast is fantastic, and even the bathrooms have hot full pressure showers. I can recommend this particular hotel with out any reservation and be sure to complement the hotel staff on their superb attitude and incredible personal service. On football weekends, don't miss the free tailgate party that Mr. Cribbs offers all of his guests. He runs the place just like the finest of 1st class/world class hotels.

Room Tip: Try the Jacuzzi special room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.