We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality during football weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Knoxville
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great hospitality during football weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful during our football weekend stay. Free popcorn in the afternoon, free cookies in the evening, free full hot breakfast, and an unexpected treat was the free gameday bbq ...ribs, hot dogs, hamburgers, cole slaw, baked beans, drinks, and cake. The free shuttle to the stadium was great! The suite was spacious and clean. As alumni of the opposing team, we were pleasantly surprised at the hospitality extended to us. Location is especially convenient to I-75.

Tennessee fans

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    72
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
66
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have stayed there many times over the last 4 years. I sometimes teach at the dental School at University of Florida and also go to almost every home football game. Well, Mr. Bruce Cribbs, general manager, takes such good care of me and the other alumni who have also decided to only stay at Sleep Inn. As an example of the incredible personal service they offer, this past weekend, I had forgotten my ticket. My wife Fed Exed the ticket and it was to arrive around 11:30 Well as I was telling the manager about our tail gate party that I was going to have to miss, waiting for the package to be delivered, Bruce Cribbs said, no problem, go to your tail gate party, and he would personally deliver the ticket to me. I have told everyone about that true story, and it is just one example of how he runs the hotel with outstanding, consistent personal attention. The place still looks brand new, the free breakfast is fantastic, and even the bathrooms have hot full pressure showers. I can recommend this particular hotel with out any reservation and be sure to complement the hotel staff on their superb attitude and incredible personal service. On football weekends, don't miss the free tailgate party that Mr. Cribbs offers all of his guests. He runs the place just like the finest of 1st class/world class hotels.

Room Tip: Try the Jacuzzi special room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenacres, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a great location for the right price. The rooms are clean and include a small refridgerator and microwave. Continental breakfast and free wifi was included in the price. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Business center is good, small exercise room is good. Popcorn and Cookies are good. You have the manager's cell phone 24/7. A great experience. I would definetly stay here again. I was able to personally speak to the manager and inform him of the great customer service that I received.

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very pleased with the level of service at this hotel. The check in staff was helpful, but the real treat was the free breakfast attendant. He was so attentive that it felt like full service dining for our extended family with many children. I was also pleased to learn about the game shuttle. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The price was right and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a great hotel for game day! Close to campus and they run shuttle's to the game to make it easy. Also, the staff is VERY helpful and are accommodating to large groups staying there. This was my first stay here, and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my first stay at a Sleep Inn and honestly was a little concerned. I have to say, I'm quite shocked at the hotel, the customer service, price and location. All of the above mentioned were exceptional! I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone. Taylor at the front desk was outstanding, friendly and extremely helpful. I am considering moving to Gainesville and Taylor went out of her way to offer information that was greatly appreciated. Our room was great, slept well, and it was clean. The breakfast was much better than what my daughter is used to at other hotels! Great job staff?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.