We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Gainesville
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently for a graduation. Very clean property and super helpful front desk staff. Good breakfast with limited variety and a server that made my morning. As sleep Inns go this is first rate. About 10 minutes from the University campus made it very convenient for campus activities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    69
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
111
63
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really wanted to love this hotel after reading the reviews. However, it appeared to be very clean except for the one thing I just do not like in a hotel these days. I do not like a sheet-blanket combination on my bed. I much prefer a duvet and sheet.To me, they seem cleaner and more sanitary. Besides the sheet-blanket thing, the sheets and pillow cases seemed wrinkly, not like fresh linens..I don't know, maybe it's just me and my preference. Also, housekeeping did not replenish the amenities in our room during our stay (shampoo, coffee). Other than those minor things, it was a pleasant stay. Oh, except for the pointy toothpick my foot discovered under our bottom sheet.

The bathroom was large, granite shower only, and clean with granite counter tops.


The breakfast room was kept spotless by the lovely young man working there. He was polite and made sure you had whatever you needed including making your waffles for you. There was the usual variety of breakfast items you find in every transient hotels these days with something for everyone. Popcorn in the lobby was a nice touch. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room. Free wifi. All in all, a nice, affordable hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlin, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The stay was very nice in all respects. Clean, quiet, very safe, easy to get to, well located, exceptionally nice staff. The breakfast was particularly good with a wide variety of meats, eggs, rolls, yogurt, juices, breads, etc. Very comfortable soft bed and pillows. My only disappointment was that our refrigerator did not have a freezer compartment, but that is just us. The cost was fair, about $100, but not an outstanding value. Just a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Check-in, check-out, accommodations, parking, location, noise levels all better than we expected. Never stayed at a Sleep Inn before, we got a very good rate for a 2 night stay, which caused us some trepidation...were we going to regret this? King bed room size was spacious and comfortable, with nice adjacent couch and sitting area. Bed was comfortable enough, no complaints, AC worked swell, good TV, desk, fridge and microwave (didn't use it) all make for a relaxing place to settle in for a couple nights. Only complaints: minimal walking noise from room above ours, bathroom was average clean - not above average clean, which is always a big plus for us. Breakfast buffet was good, acceptable - have had better...and worse too. Road noise from I-75 was minimal, you can hear tractor-trailers going by at times - but not enough to bother us or disturb sleep.
Didn't use or check out the pool - so no comment on it.

Room Tip: Try top floor, mid-building to East end for quietest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It's a normal motel, quite comfortable, convenient location, well-priced and a very helpful staff. We had a minor emergency in the evening and the night clerk went way out of his way to help us out. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After multiple visits, still impressed with cleanliness and customer service. Beds are extremely comfortable, slept like a baby. Whenever I am on the road, I look forward to staying at this property just off I-75. Staff very cordial and always helpful. I stay in many hotels and put this one at the top. Can't beat the price.. ..they exceed my expectations in all areas.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were heading to Disney parks and wanted just a short drive that morning. Stopped here for the night the night before Easter.

Pros: comfy beds, friendly service, clean. Demetric is the attendant in the breakfast room and he definitely needs a raise or a bonus or a promotion!!! He works hard, friendly to everyone, makes your waffles for you, everything stocked and clean and fresh, picked up my plates just as I was about to stand up to throw them out! Our room was very quiet even being right next to lobby on a busy spring break/holiday weekend!

Cons: pool outdoors and chilly. Otherwise this hotel exceeded expectations!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.