We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our go-to place in Gainesville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Click for Special Offer
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our go-to place in Gainesville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff is very helpful, and the hotel is well-located. WiFi with printers adjacent to lobby. Reduced rates for UF parents. Exercise room with cardio equipment & coin laundry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    86
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
137
80
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I'm a picky person. I've been to several hotels in Gainesville, Marriott, Hilton, Comfort Inn and many more. This hotel is the best deal you can get. For me the most important is the cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel. This hotel exceeded my expectations. For the first time in a while I was eager to leave a good tip. And last but not least the price includes an excellent breakfast with pancakes, scrambled eggs, cereal, fruit, sausage, yogurt and more. Free Internet access and fast. The customer service is outstanding. I Definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

It was our first stay at a Sleep Inn and found it very nice. Popcorn and cookies in the lobby at night and a hot breakfast the next morning. Fast check in with AARP discount. Huge bathroom and shower and comfortable King size bed. We'll stop at these motels again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know what to expect from a room that was under $100. I was very pleased. Rooms very clean. Staff super nice. No fear of creepy crawly things (which meant I didn't have to sleep with a light on!). Exercise room has no weights, only cardio equipment. Complimentary popcorn and cookies were a sweet treat. Above average continental breakfast was a bonus. Only reason I gave a 4 for the rooms was due to size and minor wear to carpets and torn lamp shades.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel was booked mostly by a soccer group (we were not part of that group), yet the staff treated us as if we were the most important booking for the night. This may sound odd, but worth sharing; I arrived with car trouble, and when the manager, Bruce, heard of this, he offered to take a look. When it was clear that I needed a good repair shop, he connected me with the best place in town (Terry's Auto). Having that contact made the best out of a bad situation. He didn't need to do this, but I really appreciate him for extending the help when I needed it the most. As far as the hotel itself, I was not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised by both the excellent service from staff and the comfortable, clean, accommodations. I was most surprised at how comfortable the beds are--for the price, you can't go wrong. I usually stay at more expensive name-brand hotels, but I will certainly return to this property. Management clearly knows how to run a hotel. Thank you for an excellent stay - we look forward to our return!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, just request it directly with the hotel. They will do all possible to meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
largo,fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a Soccer Tournament. The people who work here are the nicest most accomodating I have ever seen. The did not make us check out until we found out if we had won or lost our game on Sunday. And then they collected all of the girls uniforms and washed them for our Victory Game the next day! One parent left her keys at a nearby restaurant and they drove her there to get them. A whole team of girls and parents can be a bit loud in the lobby.. they let us use their breakfast room for a meeting. It was inexpensive, close to everything, very clean and the rooms are spacious for the cost and location (its a college town) Perfect!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel on our way to Georgia. While the beds were comfortable and the shower was good, the hotel itself was relatively dirty. The elevator was very dirty when we arrived and still in the morning. The breakfast area was very crowded and messy and no one was attending it. The area behind the front desk was messy. Overall very mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Boulevard, Gainesville, FL 32608
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.